Humans logo

Thanksgiving wonders

Destiny together

By Sherry jacksonPublished about a year ago 7 min read
1

Irene my friend and I took an airplane to visit her parents.

They lived in Wisconsin and Irene knowing I was alone for the holidays asked if I would like to go home with her for Thanksgiving.

I

We arrived at her parent’s Cranberry Farm in the early morning.

The November air was cool and crisp and I was glad I brought my

White winter coat.

Her mom and dad lived in a big red rambling house with lots of rooms. I could even image getting lost in it!

Her mom greeted us at the door as we watched the taxis drive away.She gave us both a big hug.

Walking into the living room I gazed around.

The fireplace was lit and sofas and plush chairs filled the room giving it a cozy welcoming feeling.

Her mom rushed us into the kitchen dinning area where the table was set with beautiful orange and gold flowers surrounded by delicious dishes and hot coffee.

The breakfast was bacon and egg with vegetable and gravy with toast, a little different than my usual continental breaks of donuts coffee and orange juice.

Irene couldn’t t wait to show me the farm so after showering I pulled my long brown hair into a pony tail put on my jeans and butterscotch yellow sweater with my rust car coat and off we went in the family’s SUV on tour of the cranberry farm.

It wasn’t long before a large bog appeared filled with cranberries floating on top. There were a group of men working and one turned to wave at us as we drove up.

I could only see his brown hair falling to the side of his face. As he waded closer to us I could see how handsome he was.

Irene introduced him as Carl her brother.

I saw the clear grey eyes as he gave me an admiring once over and then suddenly our eyes met.

The sound of the birds chipping.the clear blue sky, even Irene next to me all ceased to exist and all I could see was him.

We stood there for it seemed like an eternity until Irene calling my name brought me back to the present moment.

She was insisting that we put on the thigh high rubber boots and get in the blog.

Why not I thought to myself!

After I put the boots on Carl took my hand to help me walk in the cranberry bog snd a thrilling sensation went though. My body feltI like It was melting. I could see his surprise on his face of my reaction to his touch and the pleasure it gave him.

. He showed me how to rake the berries as they were sucked into the pumps below. This was the way they harvest the berries. It was fascinating and the nearness of him was awakening in me a feeling I thought didn’t exist.

That night the whole family went into town for dinner he sat across from me at the table.

During his conversations his eyes often wandered in my direction.

His dad asked him how it felt to be back home?

Like I never left, he replied.

Yet I must admit it is a big change from living in Palms Spring as a lawyer.

Temperature are at extreme ends and no early morning bogs to do!

They all laughed.

I was surprised to know he lived in California the same as me.

When I looked up at him he raised his wine glass with a smile on his face to me and I raised mine in return to him and we both took a sip.

I had a little too much wine and everyone thought it funny. Irene’s mom teased everyone by saying she not use to the wine drinkers of this family! They all laughed and agreed!

When I stood up I almost fell so Carl took my arm and helped me walk to the car and sat beside me on the way home.

Was it the wine or the nearness of him that left me breathless and excited. He took my hand and held it and I didn’t take it away. I even let my head rest on his shoulder and closed my eyes. It was such a comforting feeling. When we got to the farm- Irene took over and helped me to my room.

My brother seem quite taken with you which is not he playboy brother that I know.

I have never seen his act this way about anyone—— .

She stopped and looked me laying on my bed almost sleep- she smiled at me and I smiled back at her and she closed the door behind her.

I felt like I was under some magical spell and I didn’t want it to ever end. I pulled my pillow closer and could feel his warm vibrations covering me and went to sleep.

The next morning Irene woke me and told me we were going on a nut gathering with the family. A thanksgiving traditional on the day before.

I put on my warmest long coat and chiffon peach scarf and we all gather in the pecan and walnut grove.

The skeletal trees graced the grounds with fallen leaves and nuts. We each had bags and picked up nuts off the ground.

The cool wind and the distant smell of burning fall leaves done by the workers made a lovely charming intoxicating fall wonderland.

Carl came over to help me fill my bag.and we wandered away from the others.

When our bags were full, he took both of them in one hand and put his other arm around my waist and before I knew what was happening his warm lips were on mine.

I eagerly responded to him without any hesitation. My body seem to have a mind of it’s own where he was concern.

The kiss lasted a long time and when it was over we looked into each other’s eyes and I knew we both felt the same.

No one seemed surprised when we came back clinging to each other and smiling.

That afternoon everyone helped make a dish for dinner in the spacious open kitchen . It was a fun and exciting time shared with the loving family!

I actually made cranberry muffins. I gave Carl the first one and he took a bite then gave me a tender kiss on the forehead.

Delicious, he declared so all could hear!

That night after dinner he asked me to go for a walk with him. He took a lantern and the family dog ran ahead of us.

When we got to the woods down the dirt path behind the house he turn to me and said.

I need you in my life - not just now but - he paused- forever! I feel so complete with you! Give me the honor of having you for my love forever and ever!

He reached into his coat pocket and showed me a ring.

This belonged to my grandmother. I now know I was keeping it for you!

He got down on his knees with the dog barking took my hand and put it on my finger.

Please share the rest of my life with me. Make me the happiest man in the whole wide world!

I was totally overcome with joy and as tears came down my cheeks I screamed “yes.”

We sealed it with a passionate kiss.

We announced our engagement after dinner the next day at Thankdgiving dinner.

I

wore my lacy blue dress that matched my topaz necklace. My hair piled high on my head and when I looked in the mirror over the dinning table I saw my eyes sparkling with literally stars in them, it was like my mom said the stars in my eyes would let me know if I was in love or not! Most definitely I was!

When we toasted with the family and our glasses touched I knew I had found my ever lasting love and-knew in my heart neither time or space could never keep us apart.

With a cranberry theme of velvet wine bridesmaid gowns and me in delicate pink ruffles we wed under a horseshoe shaped flowered stand in front of the family cranny berry bog with friend and family!

We rode away in an antique horse and carriage to the guest house not far from the main house. As I was getting down from the carriage Carl picked me up and kissed me passionately and carried me over the thrust hold of the cottage and closed the door with his foot.

My heart singed with joy as I thought together at last!

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.