Humans logo

Tee Shirts and Conversations

A conversation that began with a tee shirt, and ended with something far beyond our expectations.

By Radio S. Published about a year ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Tee Shirts and Conversations
Photo by Olenka Varzar on Unsplash

"You like the Misfits?"

I was wearing an old misfits tee shirt the day you asked me that question, and had I done that on purpose? To be honest, I can't remember, but I'm sure that I did. I wanted you to talk to me, why I couldn't say, but you captivated me somehow. It might have been your sleeves of tattoos, or the Nightmare on Elm Street hoodie you would wear when it was cold; I'm not sure anymore. All I know is, the conversation that ensued was the best thing that ever happened to me.

I learnt that you were from California, that you had seen one of my favorite bands in concert, your age, your favorite bands, and so much more. In the days that followed, you would continue to talk to me about anything and everything, and eventually, those conversations turned to flirtations, but there was advice sprinkled in, along with concern. I knew I was nothing more than a friend at best, coworker at worst, and that nothing would probably come from what we were doing. How wrong the two of us were.

The day that I left my father's compound, was the day my life began and I couldn't imagine it without you. I'm happy that I memorized your phone number, and that I got into contact with you as soon as I was able to. No longer would I have to text you in secret, or worry about being caught. you had a girlfriend at the time, and you were still stuck at (redacted). You were happy, but not quite. I was happy for you, but it hurt a little to know that you were happy with someone else.

After you left (redacted), I think your girlfriend left you if memory serves correctly, and you were depressed. I remember a day where I asked a mutual friend to go to your apartment and knock on your door to make sure you were okay. I remember calling you repeatedly until you picked up the phone and told me to stop calling you because it was too early in the morning. The sound of your grumpy voice on the other end of the line was music to my ears; I'd rather you be grumpy with me than dead.

We were friends with benefits for about a year or so before we became exclusive to each other, and even though some people had their doubts about our relationship, we knew that it would last. I wanted you from the start, and I loved you in a way I had never loved anyone before, and will most likely never love anyone else the same way ever again. You never thought it would come to where we are now; you never saw me the way I saw you, until you did. You saw me in a way I never saw myself, and you treat me as though I'm your equal, nothing more, nothing less.

What neither of us saw happening, was the baby girl that we brought into the world a few days ago. We never thought that we'd be building a life and a family together, we never thought that we would have each other through thick and thin. I never thought that I would have children, let alone get married or engaged to a wonderful human being such as you; but most of all, we never thought thought this would happen as a result of a conversation about music, bands, and common interests. It's crazy to think that all of this happened as the result of wearing an old tee shirt.

lovefriendship
Like

About the Creator

Radio S.

One of the best things we have is our imagination. In the words of Robin Williams; "You're only given one little spark of madness, you mustn't lose it.".

Instagram: radiostar66613

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.