Humans logo

Storytime: My Friend's Husband Almost Burned Her Alive and She Still Doesn't Want to Leave

Is it jazz?

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Abeg when does loyalty become stupidity?

Today, a friend of mine was gisting me about the issue that elderly members of my church had to go and settle in the house of a choir member. This chorister's name is Juliet and according to the story my friend was telling me, Juliet's own husband poured KEROSENE on her and was going to light matches and set her on fire. Thankfully she escaped before he was able to light the matches and Juliet was able to hide herself in the kitchen.

So why did he want to burn her? Well according to the story, the husband returned to the home very late at night. Curious about his whereabouts, Juliet asked him where he was coming from to which the man replied, “How does that concern you?” Juliet said it concerned her because she was his wife and wanted to know where her husband had been all night. The husband took offense. He started saying, “Is it because I’m driving your car you’re asking me all these questions? If you talk too much, I’ll just burn that car, burn this house, and burn you inside.”

The argument kept escalating and like joke like joke, the man really entered into kitchen and brought kerosene to pour on his wife. He poured it on the bed, the carpet, everywhere. Thankfully, Juliet was able to hide inside the kitchen and immediately started calling everybody from neighbors to church members. My friend’s mum was one of the church members that went to the house, that’s how she was able to tell me the gist.

Now the part that is confusing everybody is what happened when the people from church reached Juliet's house.

Upon getting to the house, my friend’s mother and the other people in the church advised Juliet to go and first of all lay a complaint with the police because according to one of Juliet’s neighbors, Juliet’s husband had said in the past that he plans on frustrating her till she leaves the house. The neighbor said that another time in the past, the man had said to Juliet, ‘this our marriage, there’s only way it will end. It’s either you kill me or I kill you, but one of us must die’. This is what the man ACTUALLY said out of his mouth.

Church members and the neighbors there advised Juliet to go to the police and at least lay a complaint but Juliet said she didn’t want to because they might arrest him. Also, at another point Juliet said that she felt 'sorry for the man', and that ‘he has a bad temper.’

People were in shock. Apparently Juliet kept on making excuses for the man saying that she didn’t want to leave him because ‘he’s not always like this’. The people advised her to, at least for the time being, give the man some space and go and stay with a family member or a close friend but Juliet REFUSED! She said that she wants to stay with the man.

Now members of the church don’t know what to do or how to progress on her case. How can a person almost burn you alive and you’re still saying you want to stay? Abeg, is it jazz? When does this thing called ‘loyalty’ and ‘standing by my man’ become stupidity?

What does one do now to help this Juliet's case? Abeg, I’ll like to hear your answers.

*Story submitted by Delight to [email protected]. This story has been slightly edited for clarity and storytelling purposes. If you have any interesting storytimes you want featured on my page, please send it to me. I’m always happy to read new submissions. Thank you Delight once again for your submission.

That’s All.

Don’t forget to leave any advice or comments you have for Delight on my Facebook post. I hope you’ve had fun. Please like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.