Humans logo

Social Media and It's Influence

How TikTok has encouraged me to be myself and learn from others

By Deidra DarstPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Say what you will about social media, but it's taught me a lot.

Being a Millennial, I avoided TikTok as long as I could. I felt pretty comfortable with my go-to social media avenues, but I finally caved when my best friend kept sending me funny videos. Peer pressure: still alive and well in your thirties. Little did I know just how much I'd learn about myself via short video clips made by strangers.

As it famously does, TikTok's algorithm quickly figured me out: 30-something, professional, mom, empath, feminist, ally, anti-racist, millennial, conservative-turned-liberal, Basic white woman. Shew, that's a lot for one For You Page to keep up with.

As the clock app began to know me better than I knew myself, I started to gain some personal insights as well. For instance, I learned that I have pretty severe generalized anxiety. I used to think that everyone "just felt like this," but TikTok taught me that, 1) no, they don't, but 2) I sure do. Hearing the stories of others gave me the push that I needed to seek medical treatment - and my mental health is better for it.

Through TikTok, I've realized that your generation greatly impacts your thoughts, feelings, and actions. How we were raised and the expectations set before us impact us on a level much deeper than we realize. I've also been made very aware of just how many Unprecedented Times we Millennials have been witness to...it's too many, really.

Not only did I learn that many others had the same life experiences as me, I was also introduced to people who didn't. I've learned about politics, racism, and LGBTQ+ rights. I've learned about immigration and foster care. Via social media, I have been exposed to life journeys that are in direct contrast to my own version of life.

I've learned to challenge my existing thoughts when presented with new information. I also like to think that I've learned a thing or two about design and fashion choices. Dear Thirty-Something-Moms, skinny jeans and side parts really are out.

I've always been one to talk before I speak, but TikTok got me listening. But in light of my newfound knowledge, I have been educated and humbled. And when we know better, we do better.

So I like to think that I'm doing better these days. I'm understanding what makes me, me. In a world where we are so heavily influenced to do and be and buy just like everyone else, TikTok has shown me that there are people out there who break the mold. In a world where so many strive to be the same, dare to be different - life is more fun that way. I like to think that I'm a mold-breaker, too.

While I'm my own person, I'm not alone, either. There are others out there who think and feel very much the same way that I do. There is a comfort in knowing that you're not alone. From seeing others who struggle with mental health issues, to finding another special needs parent who gets it. Friendships are made when a shared interest connections. Healing often comes with the connection.

And still yet, there are others who are very different from me. Those whose lived experiences have given them knowledge and perspective that I simply don't have. And I can learn from all of them.

I think that's the big take away from all of this. When stories are shared, new perspectives are gained. This allows us to understand, grow, and change. As humans, we are often afraid of change, of new, of different. But here's the thing: once we start to listen to others, we realize that we really are better together.

I guess you could say that I've been influenced: to learn and care about myself and others.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Deidra Darst

Writer...and lots of other things.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.