Humans logo

Relationship with a Sociopath

What a nightmare

By Jim GilesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In the summer of 2012. I met a younger man for a relationship on Craigs List. He was very tall and blonde and very good looking. He was 24 and I was 58 at the time. He looked like a fashion model. He was a gay man from my area. He didn't have a car or a job or much money. I met him and took him over my place. We talked and seemed to hit it off. I then took him for some pizza and took him home. He seemed nice but a little strange.

He wrote to me during the week after the first meeting and then suggested we should meet again. We got together a second time and went out for the night. He still looked stunning. I never knew at this point that I was dating a sociopath. He seemed pretty normal and had a lot of charisma. He suggested we should continue dating and wanted to move in with me.

After that he moved in. The relationship lasted three and a half years. He tried to kill me twice and also punched me in the eyes and gave me two black eyes. He turned out to be a terror. He stole my car for three days. I called the police many times on him. They said they couldn't arrest him since he was my partner.

One day , i didn't hear from him for a few days. I googled his name and found out he had hit into a Mack truck head on and was airlifted to a medical center. He ended up being in a coma for a month and then lived after that. I went through horrible times with him. I ended up in the hospital for 13 days and he never came to visit me once.

Sociopaths have no empathy. They have no feelings for their partners. He was very narcissistic and only cared about himself. My mother didn't talk to me for six months when I was with him. I dumped him over five years ago and he kept trying to come back. I tried to get a restraining order against him and had a panic attack in the courthouse and it never went thorugh. My case was dismissed.

I ended up finding a great therapist who is a psychologist with a PhD from NYU. He told me I was involved with a sociopath and he was very dangerous and I should get away from him fast if I valued my life. Once my ex said to me , I hope your plane crashed when you go to Florida to visit your Mom. Also he said to me, I hope you don't wake up from the anesthesia during your knee surgery. He could be very mean.

He became a terrible person with me and it was a nightmare living with him. He became a drug addict and stole all my money. I say never meet people on Craigs List for a relationship. There must be many losers and sociopaths and psychopaths on there.

I never had such a bad experience in my life. I dumped him on the advice of my great therapist. He kept trying to come back. I never went back to him. it was the worst experience of my life. I never was so miserable as I was with him. People can ruin your life. My therapist told me about a great book callled the Sociopath Next Door. I would like to read that book. I learned a lot about the behavior of sociopaths from my therapist and having dated and living with one for over three and a half years. Now I am healthy and in a healthy relationship. I am glad the misery is over.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Jim Giles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.