Humans logo

Pitch Black

In the end, it didn't even matter

By Jasmine S.Published 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Photo credit, Daniel Kordan

Otherworldly and everything in between that I grew up knowing as myth, from a time when the unusual or misunderstood was feared. However, in modern-day society people no longer view these tales as something to be frightened of.

Events like Halloween and conventions take place for anyone that's interested, can dress up as beings taken straight from a work of fiction. But what if I told you, maybe those people from long ago wasn't too far off the mark, what if you didn't have to search for these beings among everyday society, what if I told you they were under our feet the entire time.

University, the steppingstone for advancement towards the goal of getting a higher paying job, living your dream life. For me, I'm here because, out of a family of five, I was the first to be granted a scholarship and the opportunity to go to college. To say my parents were ecstatic would be an understatement.

The day I got my acceptance letter a week after graduation, via email, they were gushing nonstop about the activities, making new friends and of course my career plan. I wouldn't want to be one of the kids that disappoint their parents by not going, especially when they have such high hopes for me. To go along with that, my two older brothers nor my parents have ever managed to attend college, so here I am.

Personally, I didn't want to apply to any colleges, staying home, helping run our small family business would have been enough. It has become more apparent to me that in life we don't always get what we want, though I have contemplated the bright side of my situation. I had decided to gain a degree in Business Management, what better way to positively impact our family business.

"Jesse!" Hearing my name being yelled so loudly jars me out of my thoughts, turning my head, I see Charlotte from across the quad running and waving her arms frantically to gain my attention as if screaming my name wasn't enough.

As she reaches my side, I happen to look around, if I'm not mistaken almost every head in the quad was looking in our direction. I turn back to Charlotte, gave her the stink eye, duck my head to avoid further scrutiny as I walk to the dormitory. I don't know how Charlotte always seems to draw attention, being the complete opposite, I would rather melt into the background. Instead of commenting on the fact we had unwanted attention, I kept my lips sealed and allow her to say what she intended.

"So, I know, you don't really like crowds, but would you please consider going to this party with me the seniors are throwing this weekend. And before you give me your answer, I need a designated driver, I plan to get completely wasted before exams. Pretty please with a cherry, whipped cream on top?" Charlotte asked, with sparkles in her eyes and a wide grin.

Even though I did not like whipped cream, I surprised even myself by, thinking about it. In the end, I agreed for the mere fact that I didn't really need to socialize in order to be a responsible driver. To my mortification, Charlotte whooped loudly with a fist pump for the whole campus to hear, ground open and swallow me now! I sped walk to our dormitory, head down with a face blazing red. All I heard after my quick exit was Charlotte cackling, uncontrollably, I had homework to finish.

For the next few days, I attended classes, got caught up on all my outstanding assignments, I hardly saw Charlotte around campus. We didn't have the same classes; she was studying Archeology which to me didn't match her personality at all. When I think about the fact that she will be getting dirty, being away from civilization, I don't picture Charlotte. But hey, who am I to question her chosen field. I missed her, I was used to her excitement and exuberance though it could be exhausting at times. By the end of the week, I found myself looking forward to the party if only to see and spend time with Charlotte.

It was Friday evening the night of the party, standing in front of my closet trying to figure out what I could possibly wear when my phone *pinged* to let me know I had a message. Unlocking my phone, it was a message from my eldest brother, Owen.

Hey baby sis, how’s it going?

Nothing really, just finished up some homework, plan on going to a party, you kno the usual.

Wait, wait, ur going to a party, with who, where!?

I was about to send a quick text not to let anyone else know, especially Jace and Sebastian, I wouldn’t hear the end of it. Before I could send the message, Owen sent:

Hold up, lemme get Jace and Seb in on this.

Not even a minute later I got a notification that I was invited to a group chat. I covered my face with both hands, I groaned and flopped onto my bed. Perfect, just absolutely perfect, in quick succession my phone went off like a rocket, ping, ping, ping.

Owen: Guys Jess is goin to a actual party

Jace: You have to be kiddin me, with who?

Owen: Idk yet, I didn’t give her a chance to tell me

Seb: Well hot damn. Jess!

Jace: Helloooo

Owen: Jess! I’m givin her exactly two mins to answer

Knowing my brother, he’ll call me video chat and then not only will I get to hear their opinions but see their facial expressions and vice versa. Sighing, I quickly sent a response.

Me: Hey guys

Jace: Finally!

Seb: About time

Owen: Ok, so now answer the question. Who you going with?

Me: Just a girl friend from school

Jace: Is she hot?

Me: Ewww, even if she was I wouldnt be tellin you

Seb: This isnt about you Jace

The conversation completely took a left turn after that, Jace and Sebastian went at each other's throats. I have no idea why they continued to argue over text messages when they lived in the same house. Fights between those two were always a frequent occurrence at home, having almost a two-year difference in age didn’t allow for one to have authority over the other.

Jace was a little self-centered, Seb overly cautious and concerned, then Owen the undisputed authority figure of the four of us. Chuckling to myself, I know he regretted inviting those two to the conversation. In the end, they got me to promise to at least have fun and drink a little, even though I was one year away from being legal.

After my eventful conversation, Charlotte shot me a quick text letting me know she was on her way over to my dorm room so we could leave together. As we were in the middle of winter, I had decided on knee-high boots, black leggings, a matching turtleneck with a leather jacket Seb had gotten me. My unruly, curly hair was a hassle to manage, I eventually threw it into a high ponytail after trying and failing to tame my waist-length hair into a semblance of order. I didn’t like nor wear make-up, but I did dab my lips with a little lip gloss. Not a minute later, Charlotte texted me she was outside my dorm.

Ten minutes later we were on our way. To my dismay, I find out the party isn't on campus as I initially thought, instead, it was in the middle of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Good lord, it's the most expensive area, I have never stepped a toe there, who would Charlotte know to get an invite.

We had about an hour drive before we arrive, but by the way, Charlotte was weaving in and out of traffic we'll be there by in thirty. As I’m watching lights and shops fly by through the window, listening to Charlotte’s deafening music, my thoughts led to my brothers. They were going to kill me, they wanted me to have fun but safely, knowing this party isn’t on campus will guarantee a visit.

Turning to Charlotte, I turned down the music, earning myself a quizzical eyebrow lift, I ask, “So who’s going to be there and how did you get an invite?”

“Be where?” Was her cryptic response, I'm quite sure I was crystal clear with my questions.

Gaping at her, she couldn’t be serious. “At the party. Come on Charlotte you know what I meant.”

She hesitated briefly before answering me. “Um…let's see, one of my group’s partners, we have forensics together. At one of our meetings, he mentioned throwing a party while his parents are out of town, then let us know we could come if we wanted.”

I couldn’t help but stare at her, not only were we one hour away from everything familiar, headed towards an unknown situation but to top it all off we won’t know one person there, at least I won't. She looked at me, laughed then said, “It’s cool Jesse, just relax, we're going to have fun, chill for a few hours then leave. Nothing to it.”

Sitting back in my seat, I couldn’t help but worry, hopefully, my feelings are unwarranted.

*********

If you've made it this far I would like to say thank you for the read and just a quick note, this story will be told in parts. How many parts, I'm not entirely sure yet, I get inspiration throughout my days so the story changes constantly. But I hope to have part 2 out soon.

If you enjoyed the story so far, feel free to give a like or tip, it would be greatly appreciated.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine S.

Born: The Bahamas, Grand Bahama

Trying my hand at short stories, I always liked to read but never thought I could write stories. It's never too late to start. I appreciate any reads or comments.

Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.