Humans logo

Perfume

A Smell That Brings Back Emotional Memories.

By Carol TownendPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Perfume
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

I love this perfume; and if you are wearing it when you walk past me, please don't think that I am rude for having a really good smell. I have a very emotional reason for that.

A few years back, over Christmas, one of my best girlfriends passed away and she wore this perfume all the time.

My friend was a friend who supported me through many years of violence and mental health problems. She was the truest and most understanding friend I ever had, and I will never be able to replace her.

Smells can bring back so many memories of a lost loved one, particularly when it involves something like perfume which they used to use on a regular basis.

I went on a holiday to Great Yarmouth last week. I paid a visit to a Chemist, and a lady walked past me smelling of Chanel No5 I couldn't help but sniff up as my eyes welled with tears. At that time, I had flashbacks to happy and sad times with my friend. I remembered these words from her:

"Remember you are worth all the love in the world. You're too beautiful to let anybody treat you less than you deserve."

These words came from her at a time when my life was full of pain, violence, and abuse.

My friend was my brick. She was the one who looked after my children when I broke down, and the one who wasn't afraid to stand up to my abuser and call him out on his behavior. She also called others out no matter who they were if she found them to be mistreating me.

As the beautiful, warm, sweet scent lingered in my senses, I remembered all the parties we danced at, the concerts we went to, the clubs and pubs we went to, and nights in my lounge when we would sing along and listen to Scooter all night.

I still love the bouncing songs that Scooter performs today, in fact, it was my friend who introduced me to him.

Here is one of our most loved songs by Scooter.

Accessed by Author: 14/09/2023, courtesy of YouTube.

There is not a day that goes by when I don't think about my friend. It only takes one song by Scooter or the sweet smell of Chanel No5 to induce the many memories of times passed with her, and the love that she poured into me like raining hearts from the sky.

I think everyone who has lost a loved one, has something that reminds them of that wonderful person. It could be a song, smell, item, piece of clothing, or even a certain food that brings back memories both happy and sad of times gone by.

The very last time that I saw my friend, she took me by the hand and looked into my eyes. Her last words to me were,

"Remember, I love you exactly as you are. Don't ever change your beautiful person for anyone."

She really was the only truest friend that I had at a time when my heart was being ripped apart by my situation. She gave me strength and hope, and she showed me a love unlike any other friend had ever shown me before.

I miss her so much, but every time I smell Chanel no5 or hear a Scooter song playing; I will know that she is still watching and listening to me in spirit, no matter where I go or what happens in my own life.

Cherish your truest friend, because you never know when they are not going to be around for you anymore.

lovehumanityfriendship
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.