Humans logo

Out of the Woodwork

The unbelievable power of supportive friends.

By Emily FarrellPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Out of the Woodwork
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When I first joined social media, over 12 years ago, I was a very different person. I acted differently, I looked different, I even sounded different. But most importantly, I stood for completely different things. So naturally, I acquired a lot of friends and followers early on who thought as I did. Who believed what I did. And as I have grown and learned, I have found myself continually drifting away from those people. We have gone our separate ways and remained civil internet friends, for the most part. But with the way the world is right now, I have a hard time staying silent when I see something posted that is hurtful or misguided. I know where these friends are coming from, I used to be there too, but someone helped me learn and I want to help them. More often than not, however, I am met with contempt. I have been called names, belittled, and insulted. I have been hurt by people I used to call my friends. This week was different. This week I stood up for what I believed in and received an outpouring of love from so many people, including several people I had not seen or spoken to in years. And it made all the difference. It can seem like an impossible task to stand up for what you believe in, especially on Social Media. There is so much misinformation and hate out there that it can just seem overwhelming. But if something is truly important to you, it is absolutely worth it to put yourself out there. I'm not saying it is easy. It is definitely not. But I am saying that it is worth it. You are not going to change every mind. You are not even going to change most minds. Change happens little by little, through hundreds of conversations. It takes time and effort and a willingness to listen and learn on both sides. It is hard work, but you will never regret speaking up, especially when it is as simple as writing a comment on a post. Be aware that not everyone will be ready to have the conversations that need to happen. Know that sometimes you will have to walk away. Not every relationship should be saved. But even if you don't reach that person right away, you could be the catalyst on a long journey of positive change, and that is so very important. This week I am so very grateful to every person who supported me when I spoke up. Who had my back when I was torn down. And who were right there with me when I made the choice to remove people who did not care to listen from my life. Know that you have encouraged me more than words can say. You have given me all the motivation I needed to continue to stand up for what is right whenever I get the chance. And that right there is how we will change the world.

humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emily FarrellWritten by Emily Farrell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.