Humans logo

Normalize Normal Bodies

Embrace the squish

By Kaylee NortonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
5 minutes edit on "BodyTune"

I saw a post on IG the other day that really opened my eyes. It was from one of the plus size curvy influencers and she was more or less complaining about other influencers of more normal and socially acceptable sizes. You know the ones she means; the ones who complain about their bloat belly. The ones who show how the “fitspo” gals get the desired “curves for the gram” when they themselves are skinny. The ones that say “everyone has rolls when they sit” but when they get up, they have nice flat stomachs.

When you make those posts you’re fighting the same things I’m fighting when I just exist online. When you go against beauty standards by relaxing in a photo you are feeling what I feel when I post an ordinary photo. There is a reason for the rolls, the relaxed, the unposed. You are mimicking something beauty standards hate – my body.

Fullerfigurefullerbust on IG

The general premise of her post was talking about how these gals can suck in, contort, and pose their way to IG desirable pics while her and many other fat girls can’t suck in and pose their way to a slimmer body; they are fat at every angle.

Now, she wasn’t saying that they don’t deserve to be a part of the body positive community but they need to recognize that they are still privileged and they should advocate for those who are marginalized… the ones the community was originally created for.

Even myself, despite being overweight, I am still privileged; I am cis white, abled body and my weight, though slows me down, doesn’t prevent me from doing things.

I saw another body positive influencer start a new hashtag/trend #normalizenormalbodies which, honestly? Is brilliant because, let’s face it, you don’t see a lot of “normal” bodies because a very small percentage has dominated the fashion/beauty industry and with apps like “Face Tune” and “Body Tune”, it’s easy to “fix” areas of your body you don’t like.

So what are “normal” bodies?

Normal bodies have cellulite

Normal bodies have stretch marks

Normal bodies have hair

Normal bodies have skin issues

Normal bodies have weight fluctuations

Normal bodies go through seasons

Normal bodies have acne

Normal bodies age

When I do modeling, I have a specific request to my photographers of zero editing… or at least minimal. The only time I am okay with editing (other than general lighting) is if it’s not actually a part of my body; cellulite, moles, stretch marks, and rolls are to be left alone. Take out wires or a wall outlet. But leave ME alone

It’s only come back and bit me once during my last photoshoot. There was one picture I couldn’t help but think how old and tired I looked! I decided to use FaceTune on that photo to see how easy it is to edit into a more youthful image. Less than 5 minutes and it took about 20 years off my face

Guess what? I AM old, lol! I’m mid 40 and though many people believe that I’m younger, lighting can influence how you look. Of all the photos, that was the only one that I actually didn’t like and ONLY because of how old I look. The rest of the photos that day I love!

Youth doesn’t last forever and I, for one, am not going to fight it. I’m not going to ignore it, I’m not going to hide; I’m going to honor this new season of my life because not everyone has that

social media
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.