Humans logo

My Lucid Dream

Seeing Myself

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
My Lucid Dream
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I've always had very vivid dreams. Sometimes recurring dreams, but typically, for me, recurring dreamscapes with different experiences. My dreams often feel like I'm on a Fortnite map, with different sections; winter, woods, beach, city, and some wildly imaginative ones. I decided to start a dream journal this year to work on remembering more of my dreamscape. So, first thing in the morning I'm either typing or recording a voice memo of whatever I can remember.

In my dreams, I'm often traveling somewhere, in some crazy way, trying to get away from an apocalyptic type scenario, bad situation, or staying somewhere on vacation. And then theres the few where I'm late to class, failing a college course, or can't find an outfit for a party but everyone else is dressed up. Those one's always give me a laugh. I'll spend some more time in other articles getting into my dreamscape, but recently I experienced my first lucid dream, that I can remember at least.

Usually, when I'm dreaming I am seeing things as myself in my own body and perspective. A few weeks ago, though, I had one of the strangest dreams I can remember. I was seeing everything as myself, but then, there I was. I could see myself. I asked the version of myself from my perspective that was dreaming, "how is this happening?" I even thought to myself (in my dream), that this must be a dream, I was looking at my face, very intently. I was wearing bright blue. I was so confused, yet so amazed to see my actual skin, my actual face...and not a reflection, or photograph. I was recognizing that I was indeed looking at myself, yet feeling outside the self I was looking at. I felt an acceptance, a love for that person I saw, and again, still knowing this wasn't normal. But I was taking it all in, it was...incredible.

As I'm still processing what is happening, my other self crouches down, lunges at me, and begins trying to eat me alive. Eating at my side, as I start to fight her off. Unfortunately, I can't remember what happened next. Maybe that means I died, or I just don't have the memory of that part. The next thing I can remember is in a different area of my dreamscape, so maybe I made it? Or maybe it was a new dream. Either way, it was definitely a surreal experience.

I've read many of the possible interpretations on Google, however, I also have my own interpretation. While it was bizarre to see myself in front of me, I think that when my other self started to eat me and I had to fight her off, it was like, my shadow self. A version of me, that we all have inside, holds the darker parts. In retrospect, it felt somewhat healing when looking at in with this perspective. I was facing a part of myself, the part that fights against me. You know that saying, "We are our own worst enemy's." I didn't feel like an enemy, but recognized that I needed to get away from that version of me. A possible metaphor, for the parts of me that try to tear me down, and hold me back.

I know there are tons of people out there experiencing amazing lucid dreams. I look forward to continuing my dream journal, and hopefully gaining even more clarity into my dreamscape world. If you've ever had a lucid dream, or dream of yourself, then you know what I mean when I say it is remarkable.

Share your experiences or thoughts in the comments! Would love to hear another's lucid dream! Happy snoozing! zzz

humanity
1

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Interesting to hear you attempt to eat yourself in your dream. I can’t lucid dream, I’m always another person and the idea of me doesn’t exist. I am usually too busy with their problems to even fathom I’m dreaming. Also I can feel in my dreams, and taste things. All of our dreams are weird and there is someone out there who has even crazier ones than mine. Although I’ve noticed the more creative a person is the less they dream of every day stuff. Power to your dreams and the landscapes they come up with.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.