Longevity logo

My First Spartan Race Experience

Michigan 2022

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Austin, Taylor, Me, Mike

Austin, Taylor, Me, Mike

I almost started typing out this post saying how “I could’ve had a better time but” or this, that, & the other excusing my results….then I didn’t even complete the sentence because even my brain doesn’t want to entertain that garbage.

I am so FCKING proud of myself for completing this. And at the same time, humbled, to say the least. It was a 5k with 20 obstacles. Some I found more difficult than others but none were easy. And I am so proud of Mike who could’ve gone faster of course but enjoyed doing it together. We had a blast, and Mike even picked me that flower you see!

Mike and I really didn’t train or prep at all, not one run this year. Even still, it is a physically, mentally, and, emotionally exhausting race! And now — a huge accomplishment to me. I’ve earned deeper self respect, confidence, fortitude…

I’m proud of myself because I didn’t know what to expect going into it and I did it anyway.

I was a little nervous, and I did it anyway.

My brain wanted to quit during that bucket carry, but I think you get the gist…I did it anyway.

Our bodies will go much further than our minds think they can. I reminded myself that. And I refused any negative talk…simply “I got this, I can do this, I’m doing this.” What they say: “whether you believe you can or you can’t, your right” is absolutely true.

Sure, I’m a sentimental person, so let me say: this race was incredibly meaningful to me. It felt …well I can’t even find just one word to explain it, but, maybe empowered. I feel so much love for myself, to show myself what I can do while I’m alive on this Earth. Honoring my capable, resilient body.

Were there a few tears through the end of the bucket carry? ….idk guess you had to be there! But I kept going….to me that’s what a Spartan is. Willpower baby! I loved the mud!

It was so fun to run with Taylor and Mike, plus Austin crushed it in his heat ahead of us! Not only were Taylor, Mike, & I cheering each other on with high fives, but fellow Spartans were there cheering you on too when they see you tiring out. That was something I thought was really awesome about this community. Like one: “You got this Nicole” & I’d dig a little deeper. I do got this.

Isn’t it funny how you perk up a bit when you hear your own name? Say it to yourself too! Because if you believe in yourself, and your words…they manifest into reality backed by intentional action.

Can’t wait to actually train more for next year, I know the obstacles now, & I am coming back even stronger, inside & out! This race lit a fire in me. See ya next year Spartans, when we compete in the age group heat. I’m hungry to beat my time and crush ALL the obstacles!

Overall, I think I’m converted to a Spartan & will be trying more. If there’s one thing I love working on…it’s my health. It feels good to feel good! It feels amazing to hurdle the obstacles (pun intended) of life.

We humans are STRONG! We are animals too. We started on this Earth, constantly moving. “Active” was the lifestyle, there was no need for exercise. We invented it because of where our lifestyles adapted, especially in America.

Cmon, if I can do it you can! See you next year at the starting line!

#IAmASpartan #embracethechallenges

fitness
Like

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.