Humans logo

My Dad

Dad was drinking one day, shaking his head, shaking his brain, and talking about alcohol in his mouth.

By RuthValenciaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Dad
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

How does he put us in the hole? Let's take a look at it!

Dad was drinking one day, shaking his head, shaking his brain, and talking about alcohol in his mouth. That's when my sister and I got a bad idea because we wanted to go to the aquarium. Watching Dad drink, we approached him carefully, I quietly hid behind the curtain and my sister hid under the sofa where Dad was sitting. Then one of us grabbed his feet and one of us said from behind the curtain, "If you still want to drink take your kids to the aquarium. Dad saw the stance and got up from the couch, no problem. Come on, come on, let's have another drink ...... my sister and I are hiding there and snickering. I thought Dad had promised us this time that he would go. Unexpectedly, things took a turn for the worse.

The next day happened to be the weekend and we wanted dad to keep his promise to us - to go to the aquarium. To our surprise, Dad was quick to do the same, reached out, grabbed the car keys, and said, "Okay. Let's go!" When my sister and I saw Dad, our faces looked like honey and we were smiling so happily. On the way, my sister and I sat in the car and imagined the aquarium. There were big sharks, jellyfish, and sea lion shows ...... my sister and I laughed heartily. Just when we were still immersed in the beautiful fantasy, Dad suddenly said, "Here we are." We happily got out of the car.

But what we saw in front of us made me and my sister dumbfounded. Where is this aquarium? This is a vegetable market. At that moment, my sister sat back with her buttocks shrunk, put her hands next to her eyes, and cried out, "I'm going to the aquarium. I want to go to the aquarium." At this time, Dad picked up his sister with both hands, while touching him with his hands and said, "Son, I'm taking you to the aquarium." Dad walked with both feet in big steps as if he was confident. Dad took us to what he called the "aquarium". At this point, my sister cried again, both hands patting my dad's hand crying louder and louder. It turns out that this is just a place that sells seafood, not an aquarium. But dad pointed to the seafood stall seafood fervently introduced: "Look! This time king crab, big or not? This is the shrimp! Look! That's an elephant mussel. How? The first thing I wanted to say was: "Ginger is still hot.

Another time I didn't want to eat, so I wanted to eat dates. Dad worked hard to make a table of dishes, but I did not move a bite. Dad didn't say a word, rubbed both hands together, and said proudly, "What's wrong with that, look at me." Dad drove to the countryside without a second thought. We arrived at my grandmother's date palm tree in the countryside. Dad told me to take a basin and stand still under the date palm tree. I didn't know what it was for, so I had to do what my dad said. I saw my dad take a bamboo pole and stand at a distance. He swung the bamboo pole at the date palm tree and hit it. The tree was beaten like a monkey in the sky, and in no time the dates fell from the tree like rain. It was not the tree that was unlucky, but me. The dates hit me like bullets. I dodged left and right, but my nose and face were still swollen, while my father was laughing from afar. After this incident, I never wanted to eat dates again.

But after this incident, dad took us to the aquarium to give us comfort. Looking at my dad holding my sister's hard work, thinking how hard he works every day to earn money for us to buy food, a warm current came to my heart.

This is my dad, although he "cheats" us, but loves us most. I know he just wants to tease us and educate us in a way that makes us happy. I love your dad.

family
Like

About the Creator

RuthValencia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.