Humans logo

Troubles

Lost in the forest of low self-esteem

By RuthValenciaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Troubles
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Lost in the forest of low self-esteem

Now I am a person who dares to speak up and stand on the podium, but I used to be a person who has low self-esteem and can't believe in myself.

When I encountered something I could do and do it well, I was afraid to express my ideas; when the teacher called me up to answer a question, I always spoke in a small voice or stammered, and even I could hardly hear myself, thinking that my answer was wrong. All of this stems from a monster called "inferiority complex".

One time, the school organized a speech contest in which each class had to send one student to participate. Because of my excellent language score and good essay writing, the teacher chose me to go.

Ah, this is a bolt from the blue for me!

What to do? What if I can't spit out a single word when I get on stage? What if I mispronounce a word? What if I stutter? After a day of consideration, I couldn't overcome the little devil in me and refused the teacher, giving up the opportunity. The teacher's eyes were so helpless! Now that I think about it, I'm holding my breath. I blame this damn worry.

Worry, with the wind disappeared without a trace

At the weekend, my mom took me to see the sea, and I was still dwelling on the matter of not participating in the speech contest, thinking about why I was so useless. Even the beautiful scenery on the road was left in my unconscious past.

I came to the sea, looking at the sea, bare toes walking on the cotton candy-like soft sand. Listen to the sound of the sea; most like to see the color of the beach; most like to smell the sea air. Just want to face the sea to say two words "comfortable", like this feeling the most. Refreshing. The wind is blowing my black hair, picking up a shell, listening to the conch girl whispering, imagining this image: Look! The conch girl wears a beautiful conch on her head and jumps out of her wind with small steps. She is wearing a light blue long-tailed skirt, the skirt is turned out a circle by this girl, her orchid finger, enchanting and beautiful, sweating in that pile of rubble. At this moment I found that, compared to them, my troubles are so small, because that kind of thing "looking for death" really bad, feel embarrassed for themselves. I was relieved.

"Into the water!" I yelled excitedly, rushed into the arms of the sea, swimming happily, looking up at the sky, seagulls soaring in the air, free, so good! The wave rushed towards us, I stood still, the wave washed me to the shore, I made a freestyle posture to attack it, happily enjoying the fun the sea brought us and appreciating the endless power of the sea.

In our daily life, although worries are like relentless wind and rain obstructing our way, we reserve the right to fight with them, so what if we have low self-esteem, the sun always shines after the storm, believe in ourselves, we only know what to do, so what if we are wrong, as long as we dare to admit and correct our mistakes, it is not too late, instantly, the worries in our hearts The wind disappeared.

Since then, I have been brave enough to answer questions in class, bold enough to do things, and become a confident person who believes in himself.

Troubles will be there for everyone, and people with wisdom can always find wisdom in troubles, and wisdom to avoid more troubles. Those who have a smooth life usually don't have as much wisdom as those who get more and more frustrated in front of difficulties.

I hope that in the future when I encounter the same troubles, I will no longer cower but try to overcome them, go!

I'm in charge of the troubles in my heart, and I'm going to turn them into happiness!

literature
Like

About the Creator

RuthValencia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.