Humans logo

My Beloved Pets

-

By Hilda Putri RahmawatiPublished 11 days ago 3 min read

I still remember the day I met Luna and Max. It was a crisp autumn afternoon, and I had just decided that my apartment needed a bit of life. I'd always loved animals but never had the chance to adopt one of my own. So, I headed to the local animal shelter, hoping to find a furry friend.

As soon as I walked in, the sound of barking and meowing filled the air. There were so many animals, each with a story, each needing a home. I wandered through the rows of kennels, feeling a mix of excitement and sadness. So many faces, so many eyes pleading for love and companionship.

That’s when I saw Luna. She was a small, scrappy kitten with the most enchanting green eyes. Her fur was a mix of black and white, and she had this way of looking at me as if she was peering into my soul. The shelter worker told me she had been found alone in an abandoned building, barely a few weeks old. Despite her rough start, she was incredibly affectionate, purring loudly as soon as I picked her up. I knew right then and there that she was coming home with me.

But Luna wasn’t the only one who caught my eye that day. In the next kennel over was Max, a lanky, golden retriever mix with a goofy grin and a wagging tail that seemed to have a mind of its own. Max had been at the shelter for months. His previous family had surrendered him because they were moving and couldn’t take him along. He had a look of perpetual hopefulness, like he knew someone would come for him eventually.

The shelter worker told me Max was a gentle giant, great with kids and other pets, and just needed a place to call home. I looked into his soulful brown eyes and felt an instant connection. It was like he knew I was considering adopting Luna and was silently pleading, “Take me too!”

After some quick paperwork and a lot of excitement, I left the shelter with Luna in a carrier and Max trotting happily beside me. The first few days were a whirlwind of adjusting to our new lives together. Luna was curious and fearless, exploring every nook and cranny of the apartment. Max was patient and protective, following her around and making sure she stayed out of trouble.

There were a few hiccups, of course. Luna had a habit of knocking things off shelves, and Max was determined to sleep on the couch despite my efforts to keep him off. But those little challenges quickly faded as we settled into a routine.

One of my favorite memories from those early days was the first time Luna and Max truly bonded. I had come home from work to find them curled up together on the couch, Luna nestled into Max’s fur, both of them fast asleep. It was a picture of pure contentment and the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

As time went on, Luna and Max became inseparable. They played together, napped together, and even ate side by side. Luna’s adventurous spirit and Max’s easygoing nature balanced each other perfectly. They brought so much joy and laughter into my life, turning my apartment into a home.

Adopting Luna and Max was one of the best decisions I ever made. They taught me about unconditional love, the importance of companionship, and the incredible bond that can form between humans and animals. Their adoption story is a reminder that sometimes, the best things in life come from the most unexpected places.

humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HPRWritten by Hilda Putri Rahmawati

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.