Humans logo

More courage, less regret

More courage, less regret

By LonetoftPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
More courage, less regret
Photo by Kyrylo Balakleiets on Unsplash

It is fate to meet a person, and it is also fate to meet a book. I saw the title of the book "May you like yourself modified by the years", and then read the introduction, and immediately bought it. 30 days, 30 small landlords, nearly 1,000 kilometers around the island travel, I was curious, the author has met what people, see what scenery, what insights?

The author, Zhang Xi, started the trip to escape from Taipei. Born in Hsinchu, he traveled between Hsinchu and Taipei from elementary school to third grade, began renting an apartment in Taipei in his junior year, and lived there for ten years. When a voice said, "You can't leave here, you have no way to live in another city." He or she was not convinced and wanted to escape from this kind of day that was about to suffocate him or her. So there was this trip, a trip that started without being ready to start and ended without being ready to end.

In the afterword, Zhang Xi wrote down a friend's words to her: "Thank you for those nights, you let me walk through that door, you slowed my time down with such a just-right gesture, so slow that when I think of you again, you still shine so brightly."

Eight passages that moved me.

1. On The fourth night, the meeting was with a 17-year-old sophomore girl. During that time, when the girl's brother wanted to play with Zhang Xi, Zhang Xi was going to say yes. The child's mother told him, "Brother, the older sister is the sister's guest, so before you invite her to play with you, ask your sister first." As Zhang Xi said, it was a very small thing, and her mother taught him respect in such detail.

2. On the fifth night, he met a girl who wanted to fulfill her deceased father's dream. Zhang Xi jotted down this passage: "It's just that in fixing yourself, you may still meet people who hurt you, and it's not your fault or his fault, we won't necessarily have better karma because we've become better, but we'll be in a better state and wise enough to deal with more grief and sadness, and that's the greatest meaning of fixing yourself. "

3. I met a language teacher. When the students asked the teacher after the test, "Teacher, what was our first place?" I said, "The first place is not important, because that means you are comparing yourself with others, we should compare ourselves."

4. met a thirty-five-year-old single mother of two. "When he got married, he said that no matter how hard life was, even if we ended up poor and hungry, he would leave me the last bite of food. Then, in twelve years of marriage, he never finished his meal, and the last bite, it must be mine." He looked at me, and I looked at her like my own mother, listening to her slowly recounting, "But such a person, in the end, will still leave you. You will give yourself countless reasons to leave, but you are afraid to admit that you are not loved."

5. meet a pair of sisters who love each other. Her sister said that when her sister first rode her motorcycle, she called her and asked if he was free. At the time, her sister was having dinner with a friend and had an appointment later, so her sister just told her, "No lah, I just want the first person in my new car to be you." "I told my friend I wasn't going to be there later. I immediately took a ride and rushed to Chiayi to find my sister." My sister said while laughing and gesticulating. They are the kind of sisters who are easily amused by each other. Looking at them I always wonder if others are looking at me and Zhang Kai the same way.

6. met a girl who had a heart like a moon. "I think when people ask me if I'm a boyish lesbian or a girlish lesbian, they're still using both genders to define me. I'm neither, I'm myself. I like girls. That's it."

7. a twenty-eight-year-old lost love cutie. She left Taipei and came to Tainan by herself. Now she is not comfortable with everything, always at a loss for her ordinariness, not wanting to be just the engineer her parents expect, but still unable to figure out what she likes and what she wants her life to be like. Despite this, she is still confused and moving forward. I think this is a great thing because the scary thing is that once you stop in the uncertainty, you misunderstand that it is a dead end that you can't resist, and you can't turn or even move forward anymore, so you live your whole life in such a corner, looking at a small piece of blue sky, making wishes that you can never fulfill, as a small blessing to warm yourself up.

The company's main business is to provide a wide range of products and services to its customers. She said, "I think love is instinctive, but loving someone well takes practice, including loving yourself."

Insight: How will we be changed over the years? How will we like our changed selves? We may not have the answer until the end of our lives, or we may see the answer from others, or it may always be a question, no matter what, the search for the answer will promote our growth and will make us become the person we want to be and the good-looking scenery.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Lonetoft

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.