Humans logo

Money, here today, gone tomorrow

AKA you can't take it with you so...

By Yvette McDermottPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Money, here today, gone tomorrow
Photo by Kim Becker on Unsplash

I've always tried to be efficient in whatever I am doing; and it turns out even doing my online shopping, that is so. I have done shopping online for various products from essential oils to corporate tax programs. Most of these were items I searched out myself though and only bought what I went in search for, so I didn't think these were a problem.

I know at times also I've had targeted ads from my Facebook page. This is actually how I found out about Vocal. It was one of the ads I saw running, and I clicked it. I can't think of the reason why though it was showing in my feed. A few of my interests in facebook are animals of course, artists' groups or shows going and astronomy; and I believe I received ads tailored to my interests.

Either way though, shopping online is also a great convenience in that I do it at home when I feel like it and many times it was cheaper than going to look in stores myself. Since I like to be efficient, this appeals to me, but I have been wary of it just the same. With covid- 19 being present though I went in search of Christmas presents online last year as well. Being someone who doesn't particularly love shopping, no one needed to twist this arm. The only worry I had while doing online shopping is watching out for my packages as we all know about porch pirates looking for booty.

By Sergey Semin on Unsplash

Some of my purchases that I sought out were pants from Amazon; various teas, cups and other "cool" accessories to give away. I bought beeswax candles, creams, even a mini live Christmas tree from a floral shop for my mom. It looked like Charlie Brown's Christmas tree which is why I bought it, and it was very cute I might add. I enjoyed every minute of my shopping and can see how this can lead to overspending....it takes a fraction of the time you would take if you did in-person shopping, and it's quick and easy. These companies don't want your experience to be a bad one, or you won't shop from them again as there's an abundance of online stores to choose from.

Shopping itself can be an addiction. As I noticed with the ease of online shopping, this can also make this addiction easier. I remember watching a program about a woman who would go and buy all sorts of items that she really didn't need. Not only that I knew one person who used to buy lots of goods from leather jackets to electronics. Most of the time the electronics he bought sat in boxes not being used ever. I think he would also be what you'd call a hoarder, so I am not sure if those two go hand in hand or not. I visited once and his whole living room was boxes of goods that looked like they'd never been opened. He had his kitchen table where he sat and watched tv; but other than that, there was very little clear space.

I am a person who likes to donate to causes I believe in - kids, animals, the environment - you get the picture here. I don't remember how but in my email account, I got an email from the Humane Society. I am suspecting I had clicked a link in Facebook at some time again, but can't remember specifics. It was holding a raffle with cash prizes. The money that is not prizes goes to helping the animals, and they include stories about some of the shelter's residents, so that your heart gets invested in these beautiful little creatures. How could I not purchase that as it not only helped the animals but also gave me a chance to win a cash prize. So there I went sending money to purchase tickets that I didn't even know about to begin with.

From there I would get emails from other animal organizations on various types of draws. And I would purchase them as I reasoned it was helping animals as well as giving me a chance at winning a prize. Even though I was sending out this money that I didn't plan on sending out, I don't feel like I had a spending hangover the next day, but it is an unplanned purchase which I am usually good at avoiding. I guess that is the idea of the unsolicited ads that hit your email box - finding your weakness and then part you with your money. In my case I am happy to send the money in.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Yvette McDermott

I am a grandma of three; I enjoy hiking, reading, cooking and Halloween. I mainly enjoy historical and horror films or books. I also enjoy exploring old sites and taking pictures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.