Humans logo

Love: It's All Greek To Me

The Story of Us

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 2 months ago 6 min read
14
Photo from Author

Mark and I met one night on a dating app. Neither of us was looking for a relationship, but here we are, together for nine years and married for five years. We have a solid, loving marriage now, but it wasn’t always that way. It was a long road to get here, and the lessons we have learned along the way taught us what true love is and is not.

Types of love

In English, we use the word ‘love’ as a coverall word. Sometimes, the true meaning or connotation is lost. Love is a bigger picture than one word. The Greek language, for instance, has seven different words used for love. (For more complete information, click here.)

Eros is romantic, passionate, lustful, and pleasurable love, much like we experience at the beginning of relationships.

Philia is a close, intimate friendship love.

Erotoropia, a flirtatious and playful type of love, is also common at the beginning of a relationship.

Storge is close, familial love. This love is unconditional and caring.

Philautia is self-love, not to be confused with selfishness.

Pragma is a committed, long-term companionship love. This is often what comes later in a relationship or marriage.

Agape is a universal love for all life, nature, and humanity, and it is an empathetic love.

Back to Mark and I

So, after that first night, Mark and I began dating. Our second date was canceled due to a stomach bug, but we got together again soon after that. We connected deeply because we had both been through some hardships, and we understood that about each other. He knew I was not out yet and never pressured me to come out, even when we became boyfriends. We had sleepovers and mostly just hung out together. We were playful and flirtatious. We were experiencing erotoropia. As our physical relationship grew and we spent more time together, we were experiencing eros. When I told Mark I was falling in love with him, eros was the type of love I was referring to.

Our relationship hit a wall. We weren’t growing as a couple, and things stayed the same. So what did we decide to do? Move in together. I needed a place for my kids and me to make a home. Mark had a big house with three extra rooms. In hindsight, neither one of us was ready for such a thing. Our relationship was only a few months old.

Nevertheless, we made it work. He was instrumental in turning his big old house into a home for my children and us. But living together brought out some of the baggage we were both carrying from previous relationships that were damaging and left long-lasting hurts. We weren’t ready to work through those feelings separately or together. We were both struggling with boundaries in and outside of our relationship. The erotoropia love we were feeling in the beginning had faded.

We continued to struggle for a couple of years. There were moments of storge love, especially with my chronic pain and bipolar disorder. One time, I was in the hospital for severe head pain—a ten out of ten on the pain scale. My blood pressure was very high, and my heart was racing. While waiting for pain meds, Mark got into the hospital bed with me to comfort me. And it worked. My blood pressure and heart rate both went down and after the pain meds, I was able to doze off for a bit.

Photo by Author's Husband

Another time we had the storge type of love was when Mark had massive dental work done. I took care of him, made him all the soft foods he could have, and kept him on top of his pain meds.

That would be the way our relationship went for another couple of years. Moments of storge, eros, and erotoropia love, but not consistent. There was a time we got into an argument when I was in a very destructive manic episode. We fought, and I said vile, mean, and even hateful things to him. To this day, I still feel heartbroken that I said those things to him. I checked myself into the hospital to break that mania. That was one of the worst manic episodes I have ever had.

Mark asked me to marry him in August with a beautiful proposal, and I said yes. We were married the following December in a beautiful wedding in a country church.

Wedded bliss didn’t last long. Boundaries outside of our marriage were once again broken, and I left. We separated for a month to give us enough time to get our mental state straight and decide if we truly wanted to be together and make it work. We learned some things about ourselves and each other throughout that separation. The biggest thing we learned was that we do love each other, albeit a broken love, and we wanted to make it work.

I came home after a month, and the following month, the Covid lockdowns started. COVID-19 lockdowns saved our marriage.

Pragma Love

When you spend much time with someone in the same space, you get to know them completely. Mark and I were in isolation the entire time due to him being an essential worker, me being high risk, and my mother being high risk. He came home from work every day and decontaminated himself. (This was at the beginning of the pandemic when we didn’t know much about it.) We would eat dinner together and then sit in silence on our phones. We decided to get a couple of puzzles to do together. Something was changing in our relationship, and it was palpable. We actually started to talk to each other. We talked about our relationship, the news, and his workday. Our eros love was growing again as well. What else is there to do in quarantine?

Over the next couple of years, we worked on our relationship. We continued to learn about each other. We forgave each other for the past. Boundaries in and outside of the marriage were clearly communicated and agreed upon. Mark did research and understood more about bipolar disorder. I communicated when I was going through a cycle. It got to the point, and even now, Mark will see many times that I am struggling before I do. I encouraged him in his job. He encouraged me with my writing. Pragma love had taken hold, and we were obviously better together.

These days, we have a good balance of eros, storge, and pragma love in our relationship. Our marriage is strong and on sound footing now. We are just better together.

Hopefully, this article articulates the different types of love according to the Greek words, and the reader can see how each type plays out in their own relationships.

Thank you for reading my work! I appreciate all reads, hearts and comments. If you would like to read more of my work, my profile is below.

lgbtqmarriagefamilydating
14

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Such a touching story, I have so often thought that the English language is inadequare for love- how canthere be just one singular word? I *love that you ensured and endured together, finding your own way through. You are both an nspiration an example of what this world needs more of; respect, patience and acceptance 🤍

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Thank you so, so much for writing this, Jim. I love this take on the challenge, all the different words for love and how they come in waves when you're with someone for the long haul. This piece is so open and honest. I love that you didn't sugar-coat your relationship or your love and instead showed us how beautiful it is because of the work it took to get where you are. This is a stunning reminder in perseverance and love. Thank you so much for writing this and sharing this part of your journey. 💗

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Exquisitely written using the seven Greek words for love. Agree with Judey, this is your best one!!! Loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Krishan Mubashar2 months ago

    If someone asks me, this clearly would be the winner! Well written, even in the aspects of journalism. You two are the perfect example that shows how great love actually is. Thanks for sharing!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I am a sucker how love develop into a stable love. This is so well written. Thanks for sharing your stages journey of love . I love the used of love terminology 🥰I can tell you both love each other very well. You are definitely with your soulmate .

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    I’m glad you two made it work even when it got hard. Even though I’m out and married, you two are still couple goals for me in a way haha just the gay couple role models I never had in my life

  • This is so endearing, J. Thank you for sharing all this with us. (And you two are adorable together!)

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    I’m so glad you worked through things and have stuck together. Awesome. I really enjoyed learning about all the different types of love. Great stuff.

  • River Joy2 months ago

    What a beautiful look at your relationship Jim. It's powerful to go through so much with someone and come out the other end still in love. I loved reading this

  • I loved your story. So happy for the two of you. 💗 Love is a road to either love or the end of love. You two are so beautiful together.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    Each time you write about Mark and your relationship I’m sure THAT’S the best story. I have been wrong. This one is.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 months ago

    It was interesting to read about the many different kinds of love and how they played a part in your relationship and marriage at different times. Every couple needs to understand these unique kinds of love so they can help them grow with patients, kindness, and mutual support.

  • Rene Peters2 months ago

    This was such a sweet piece to read! I'm glad you two were able to learn that you're better together! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.