Humans logo

is growing up meant to hurt this much?

meant to hurt this much?

By Cm pariharPublished 7 days ago 3 min read
Photo from Pinterest

I miss being a child. The memories of running, playing, splashing in the rain, flying a kite, and just enjoying life without worries are clear in my mind.

Back then, I didn’t have problems to think about. My only concerns were simple — how to sneak in playtime when my mother wanted me to nap, how to convince her to take me to the supermarket so I could ask for a new toy, or how to get help with an assignment from my family.

But now, those memories have started to fade.

I’ve grown up — and with that came the understanding that life isn’t always fun and games. The innocence of childhood has been replaced by the struggles of adulthood. Responsibilities, expectations, and the realization of a world full of both good and bad have taken over the carefree days of my youth.

Growing up meant seeing the bigger picture and realizing that life is a mix of joy and hardship. Moving from childhood to adulthood is often painful. As children, we live in a world full of wonder and simplicity. Our imaginations are wild, and every day feels like an adventure. We are protected from the harsh realities of life, surrounded by the love and care of our families.

But as the years go by, we lose some of that innocent happiness. We start to see the world for what it really is. We face disappointments, heartbreaks, and the weight of responsibilities. The carefree laughter of childhood is replaced by the stress of deadlines, pressure, and making big life choices. We learn that not all dreams come true, that people can be unkind, and that life can be unfair.

I often find myself longing for those simpler times, wishing I could return to the days when my biggest worry was convincing my parents to let me stay up late. The freedom and joy of childhood feel so far away now, it is replaced by the daily grind of adult life.

Is growing up meant to hurt this much? If yes, I long to be a kid again. I miss the days of unending play, of feeling safe and loved, of dreaming big without the fear of failure. I miss the simplicity, the magic, and the sense of endless possibility.

Maybe it’s a part of our inevitable change. The pain of growing up shapes us into who we are meant to be. It teaches us to be strong and kind. It makes us face our fears and find strength within ourselves.

Yet, even in the middle of the pain, there is still joy. The joy of achieving something we’ve worked hard for, the joy of close relationships, and the joy of finding our purpose in life.

Growing up doesn’t mean losing the ability to be happy; it means finding new ways to experience happiness, ways that are deeper and more real.

As adults, we carry the lessons learned from our experiences. We learn to appreciate the small moments of joy, to find beauty in everyday things, and to value the people we love. We learn that life is a journey, with its ups and downs, and that each moment, whether painful or joyful, helps us grow.

Growing up is hard. It’s a journey full of challenges and pain, and sometimes it feels overwhelming. But this journey is also full of growth and understanding. Change is inevitable, and while the process can be painful, it also brings new opportunities and strengths.

We must embrace the idea that growing up is painful but necessary. It’s a part of our story, a part of who we become. And even though I miss my childhood, I understand that each stage of life has its own beauty and lessons. We must face the pain and challenges, knowing they are shaping us into the people we are meant to be.

literaturehumanityhow tofamily

About the Creator

Cm parihar

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cm pariharWritten by Cm parihar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.