Humans logo

If You Love Olivia Like I Love Olivia ...

an ode to Olivia Colman

By Em GeePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you are a fan of the Netflix Series “The Crown,” then perhaps you, like me, were both skeptical and dismayed when you learned that the cast of the series would be changing every two seasons. For me, this knowledge came when I was well into the second season and was deeply invested in the relationships that had been built between the main characters. I had grown attached to many of the performances, especially including Vanessa Kirby as the glorious mess that was Princess Margaret and Matt Smith as the imperfect yet still appealing Prince Philip – but I had grown particularly attached to Claire Foy in her role as Queen Elizabeth, and frankly couldn’t imagine another actress stepping into the role. I mean – I understood the logic of embracing this concept of a complete cast change-over to portray the aging characters. After all, watching an actor age in makeup, even when done well, is always something of a distraction. But – how could it work?

And then … enter the amazing Olivia Colman. Her performance as the middle-aged/aging Queen Elizabeth is a thing of perfection, and utterly human, even when her cold demeanor breaks your heart. I am tempted now to list all of my favorite Olivia moments from “The Crown,” but I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who hasn’t watched it yet. I’ll just say this - if you are on season 2, and currently wondering if you can bring yourself to make the transition to season 3, please keep going. She is so awfully awfully good.

As we approach season 5 (when is it coming, Netflix?!), with yet another cast change on the horizon, I am feeling somewhat devastated. I don’t want to leave her behind, and as much as I love Imelda Staunton (and I really do), I think I’d be happy to watch Olivia in some makeup transform into the older queen.

So – if you are devastated as I am …. I strongly recommend that you take in some of Olivia Colman’s other great performances.

We’ll start with the BBC two-season series “Fleabag,” which is, as of this writing, available to be seen on Amazon Prime. If you’ve heard of it, or seen ads for it, you’re thinking – umm, that’s not Olivia Colman. Maybe you know that it’s written by and stars the absolutely fabulous (smart, funny, quirky, sexy) Phoebe Waller-Bridge. Maybe you even saw it already, before watching “The Crown,” and have forgotten that Queen Elizabeth was in it. That would be because Olivia Colman is a magician, and as the passive aggressive nightmare godmother-turned-stepmother of the main character, she bears no resemblance to the tightly restrained Queen that we know and love/fear. In “Fleabag,” she wields her smile like a sharp sword, and delivers brutal dialogue followed by a tittering laugh that makes you feel like your insides might implode. If you haven’t watched the series yet, I’m jealous of you that you still have it ahead of you, and get to watch it for the first time. If you already watched it, and are now thinking, “Wait, Olivia Colman was in that?” – watch it again. Go. Now. You’re welcome. (If you are about to watch it for the first time, I urge you to stay with it, past the first several episodes. I know some people who loved it instantly, but for me, it took a bit to get used the unique rhythm and style of the show. But I’m so glad I hung in. I mean, yes, by the end of each season, I was an emotional mess – in different ways each time – but it’s so so worth it.)

Throwing in a couple of non-Olivia “that’s” just for fun – if you loved “Fleabag,” I sincerely recommend that you move on to another brilliant (raunchy, hilarious) BBC Series, also currently available on Amazon Prime, “Catastrophe.” I am not going to tell you the premise, because it will be so much more fun for you to discover the story on your own – but seriously, watch it. It is laugh-out-loud wonderful. (But, like “Fleabag,” this is not a show to watch as a family. Adults only.) And also, if you can find it (for a while, it was available as a rental on Amazon – hopefully it will be again), I strongly recommend watching the recording of the one-woman show that the “Fleabag” series is based on. It is shot and performed with beautiful simplicity, and almost makes you feel as though you just spent an evening (a wonderful evening) at the theatre.

And now – if you loved Olivia Colman in “Fleabag,” if you now suspect that you would happily watch Olivia recite recipes or perform a remake of every Bob Ross painting show (oh, wait, that’s actually kind of brilliant – I would totally watch that – can someone make it??), then I suggest you shift gears, roll up your sleeves and give “Broadchurch” a try. In this British crime drama, currently available on Netflix and co-starring David Tenant, Olivia Colman plays DS Ellie Miller, who helps lead an investigation into the murder of an 11-year-old boy. Set in a fictional harbor village, with incredible clifftop views, the story unfolds slowly, and creeps under your skin. And all the while, Olivia Colman’s subtle, quiet performance is at the core of what makes this series so compelling. Again, she is totally transformed, and as Ellie Miller she bears no resemblance to her past and future roles. And again, you don’t want to stop watching her, and would be perfectly happy if her character was in every scene.

If you need more, you’re in luck. Olivia Colman has had a long career, and she is always good (sometimes, yes, she is better than the movie or tv show that she is in), so you can’t go too wrong.

Enjoy. :)

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Em Gee

I'm finding that the search for happiness and fulfillment doesn't have to be complicated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.