Humans logo

I pretend to forgot her

Confronting true feelings

By Sarah WilliamsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A story of reconciliation

It had been months since I last saw her, and I knew that it was time to move on. The memories of our time together were still fresh in my mind, but I couldn't keep living in the past. So, I decided to pretend that I had forgotten her.

It wasn't easy at first. Everywhere I went, I saw things that reminded me of her. A song on the radio, a movie we had watched together, a restaurant where we had shared a meal. But I tried my best to ignore those memories and focus on the present.

I started going out with my friends more often, trying new things, and meeting new people. I even went on a few dates, but none of them felt right. I knew deep down that my heart still belonged to her.

One day, I ran into her unexpectedly at a coffee shop. My heart skipped a beat, but I tried to act casual. We exchanged pleasantries, and I asked her how she had been. She told me that she had been doing well and had moved on from our relationship.

I felt a pang of sadness, but I didn't let it show. Instead, I acted as if I had forgotten about her entirely. We chatted for a few more minutes, and then she had to leave. As she walked away, I couldn't help but feel a sense of regret. I had let her go, and now it was too late.

That night, I lay in bed, thinking about her. I realized that pretending to forget her was not the solution. I had to confront my feelings and try to win her back. It was a long shot, but I knew that I had to try.

So, the next day, I reached out to her and asked her out on a date. To my surprise, she said yes. We met at a restaurant, and as we talked and laughed, I felt a sense of joy that I hadn't felt in months.

As we walked out of the restaurant, I took her hand in mine and told her that I still loved her. She looked at me with tears in her eyes and told me that she still loved me too.

In the end, pretending to forget her had only made me realize how much I needed her in my life. And now, we were finally back together, ready to face whatever the future held for us.

The story of pretending to forget someone can be a common experience for people who have gone through a breakup or a difficult separation. It is a coping mechanism that allows them to move forward with their lives, but it can also mask their true feelings and prevent them from confronting the issues that led to the breakup.

In this story, the protagonist initially pretends to forget about his ex-partner, but eventually realizes that he cannot ignore his true feelings. He takes the risk of reaching out to her and expressing his love, which ultimately leads to a happy reunion.

The conclusion of this story highlights the importance of being honest with oneself and others about one's feelings. Sometimes, it may feel easier to pretend that we have moved on, but in the long run, it can cause more harm than good. True healing and growth come from acknowledging our emotions and working through them in a healthy way.

Insight gained from the story is that pretending to forget someone is not a healthy way to move on from a relationship. While it may provide temporary relief, it ultimately prevents us from acknowledging and working through our emotions. It's important to confront our true feelings and be honest with ourselves and others about them. Only then can we find true healing and growth and potentially even a second chance at love.

singlelovedivorcedatingbreakups
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Williams

I'm Sarah Williams ,who is a professional freelance writer with 2+ years of experience in crafting compelling content for businesses and individuals. With a passion for storytelling and a keen eye for detail.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.