Humans logo

I met a guy from Belarus

When you feel estranged from people all your life, but a stranger makes you feel it's possible to make real good friends.

By The MadmanPublished 7 days ago 3 min read
I met a guy from Belarus
Photo by Mohammad Mardani on Unsplash

I met a guy from Belarus

It was the first time I met someone from Europe. I met him through a friend of mine. We Planned a trip to French Beach (a beach in Karachi). My friend told me that he had a friend who would join. I said sure, but I didn’t know he was a foreigner.

Before meeting, I’d never guess he’d be a foreigner, let alone from Belarus. So, even when I saw him, although he looked different, I hadn’t thought of that possibility yet. I guessed he was from Northern Pakistan, given, we have people who have different complexions. Anyway, I started talking in Urdu, and then my friend hurriedly told me he was from Belarus. Oh, I was so surprised but glad to meet a Russian (for me, he was just like a Russian, and being a Slavic, I didn’t mind considering him a Russian). The sleek skin, pointed nose, and complexion were as per my definition of a Russian, and of course how he spoke English (It wasn’t the typical Russian accent the American movies depict though).

After asking him his name and his experience here, the first thing I told him was something stupid, I said there is a popular stereotype that Russians are cold people, to which he laughed and said that’s not a stereotype but a fact, and he went on saying that Europeans always smile but making a Russian smile is.. (inaudible). I said yeah thanks for confirming. haha.

We started our journey on bikes, we were 4 people. I could see that he was interested in common life in the city. He would observe the traffic, bikes, and how people traveled sitting on the shanty bus rooftops. The city overall is so crowded, congested, and full of people. He also told me that he had never seen so many bikes before. After an hour's drive, we reached the beach, he sat there for hours staring at the sea and enjoying the moment, not using the phone, he was just in awe of the sea and was happy to be alive in the moment. He was the kind of person I would admire.

He was quiet, innocent, a little bit shy and smart. He was an observant. My other friends were mostly concerned about swimming in the sea at night. We swam, and he enjoyed swimming at night for the first time in his life. He came out of the water early because, ironically, the water was too cold for him. I decided to take a break and talk to him. That’s when I got to know him a little. He spoke good English as we talked briefly about his traveling experience and why he decided to leave everything to travel alone, and in an erratic way. He left Belarus on foot, hitchhiked, camped, couch-surfed, and traveled in public transport. He was now in Pakistan and wasn’t in a rush.

Having our fair share of fun, we decided to leave. We took a break mid-way and talked more, that’s when he opened up. He was impressed by truck art, and he told me I looked like Orlando Boom. I was flattered.

We spent some time later together; I showed him some old British era heritage and slums. With him, it was a sort of like-mindedness, we immersed in discussions about the philosophy of life over a cup of tea and paratha. It turned out, he was a little saner than I am but he’s young. He is the kind of guy who wouldn’t hurt anyone and is not selfish. I’m in contact with him and at the moment he is traveling.

You feel close to a stranger far from a different corner but alienated among people who you have spent years with, the people next door, and the people you call friends. You struggle to feel a real connection, and every time you meet people you have an annoying feeling like you don't want to be there. But a stranger like him shows that real connections are possible and that we can relate and have a safe space. Although I am a pessimist about relationships or friendship, I always think some people are worth the trouble.

Most friendships are just marriages of convenience. I am not in a rush to call a person a friend for life because there is more to a person than one knows, but I believe in energy. Hope to meet him again sometime.

travelfriendship

About the Creator

The Madman

A wise man once said nothing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    The MadmanWritten by The Madman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.