Humans logo

I Found Him

After 3 years of being a serial dater, could he be the one? Chapter 1

By Jennis VicentePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Paseo Las Flores, Aibonito, PR

Yes… I did. I found the ONE guy I was dreaming of. Under very strange circumstances, well, in all honesty, its was typical for me to meet people this way. Although the sequence of events gave a radical twist to my life.

When I was just looking for a friend to hang out every time I go to Puerto Rico, I found HIM. I know spending time with family is great, but let’s face it, spending time with a guy… it’s special.

I’m 34 years old and open to new experiences. Even if it leads to heartbreaks. I am a serial dater, and have been since my divorce. I am not ashamed to recognize I've had my fun. I've tried dating while traveling, and it is very exhilarating. I don't know if it is the thrill of quick adventure, or the fact that you may never see each other again that makes it fun. All I know is, I've tried it in Seattle, Dallas among other places, why not in Puerto Rico? What is the difference? Life is all about making memories, right?

I decided to give it a try, all I know now is that; everything happens for a reason.

After a spontaneous trip to Hawaii that led me to a confirm the status of a relationship that was essentially as fictitious as a unicorn, I found HIM. I was sure the Universe put us at the right place and time after I realized I've created an illusion from pieces of reality to make something beautiful that was always far from real. An illusion kept alive by someone who wanted to have options until he was ready to make a decision. I'm not an option and I refuse to let someone treat me like one. In my case, it took flying for almost eight hours just to spend a few hours with him, and then wait. Go with the flow of life.

It’s funny how much you can discover from others when you let things happen. But what really amazed me, it's the things you can learn about yourself. I let them happen. I analyzed them and made decisions. It is interesting to note that I didn’t take the advice I give out to my friends—Have no expectations because you will always be disappointed—Ha! Boy did I have high expectations! I got disappointed BIG TIME! But it was fine! I had six hours between landing in Phoenix from Hawaii, and boarding a plane home for three weeks… my family will help me get over it.

It took me about a week or so to analyze what I just did. Being at home gave me the clarity to see everything through until I got bored. Then ideas quickly flow through my head. Maybe I need to find me a guy to hang out for my “vacation.” Tinder will help!

While swiping, I stumbled onto someone that really caught my eye. I could not explain it, but I was attracted to him, and I needed to meet him… so without hesitation, I swiped right. I was surprised we were a match! We started the conversation quickly.

I loved the way he expressed himself, how open and understanding of the situation and my views in life he was. Literally I just wanted to have fun and we talked about going out, to coffee shops even a concert! As the conversation progressed, we were discovering how much we had in common. In my head, I imagine me having the perfect friend to hang out with! But… something changed along the lines.

First of all, I was so comfortable talking to him! It was so familiar, known. When I saw him at Café El Buen Vecino… I don’t know what happened to me. I was finally able to be myself without being judged. It felt so good! I also started seeing him with different eyes.

There was no way this guy was so perfect! He told me about himself, and it’s funny, usually I find out stuff I don’t like about guys… but he was still perfect. How could this be possible? I was amazed by him. His passion talking about what he likes, what he believes in. The fact that I did not have to entertain him, the conversation flowed, the sparkle in his eyes. Yes, I looked at his eyes a lot. They are truly the reflection of his soul. They are beautiful or maybe I was just starting to fall for him…

We sat side by side, so there was the opportunity of timid hugs and what not. By the way, I thought it was the cutest thing ever… He was nervous. I know I didn’t intimidate him. But he was a bit shaky. It was adorable.

Throughout the night, there were little things about him that I suddenly started to love. I couldn’t believe I could start having these feelings right away for someone I literally just met. I thought I was going to be heartbroken, per our agreement on this relationship being only while I was visiting, but I decided to go ahead, and not think about that this time. This one time I didn’t care if it ended or not, I just wanted to enjoy every little second I had with him regardless. I decided to jump right in and see what happened.

Ultimately, I was still searching for love, right? So, what’s the worst that could happen? Being broken hearted, again?

I think I’ve mastered the Art of picking up pieces of a broken heart.

I said to myself “WHAT THE HELL! Let’s do this!”

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jennis Vicente

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.