Humans logo

I enjoy Driving

Long Tall Sally

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read

This is my 3rd Escalade and this short story is nothing about bragging on a car or a material possession.

When I was married, I didn’t want much! I didn’t even want a man cave. I grew up in the motor city and cars were the staple of the community. Having a nice car gave me comfort and safety when riding from point A to B.

Whatever gives you comfort in life, by all means go for it! Now if you have to lie, cheat, steal or do anything unethical to achieve your comfort; ask yourself is it really a comfort to have?

I made the mistake of turning my first Escalade back to the finance company with the effort of trying to please someone who didn’t have my best interest at heart from day one. Never come to a point where you are involved with someone who puts you in a position to decide between their false happiness and your personal desires.

Long Tall Sally has everything I need! Smooth ride and comfortable for my three kids (we have room for more)! Entertainment system for long rides and all the bells and whistles from adaptive cruise control to heated seats on all four captain chairs.

Stylish look and a very nice interior. I’ve had other vehicles in the past where it was painful making car payments. However, having something you desire gives a new meaning in spending your hard earned money.

I could go on and on about the countless features, but let me gravitate back to the subject at hand! Enjoy to drive your desire whatever that desire may be. At the end of the day, no one is going to keep you away from what you desire in life.

This is a fantastic way to measure other people in your life. Hopefully there are no selfish desires or should I say the means toward the desire should not motivate anyone to do anything immoral. However, my previous and only marriage (as of today) taught me a valuable lesson! If my desires have to be downplayed or played out to the other person, then I shouldn’t be with that person.

It’s quite OK to be on different pages and have desires completely different. If there is no compromise or some kind of agreement on each other’s desires, then why are the two still spending time together?

When people start to fool themselves and sweep their desires under the rug, or even postpone those desires, then resentment set in towards the other person when the anger should have been directed to self for compromising on the person desire to live a part of their lives!

So if anyone who wants you to scale back, I say what David Goggins say, F_€% ‘em! How dare someone put a demand on another individual and try to restrict them from their personal desires? At this point, why even have a spirit flow through the body if a desire to live is restricted?

As I hit the remote start on my phone on cold Texas mornings, there is no greater feeling in driving your desire. When I told my brother Spencer I purchased another Escalade, he was happy for me. Those are the type of people that should be in the lives of others.

Tap into your desire and don’t let that desire sit at the backseat for no one! Your desire deserves as much respect as the next person’s desire! Stop selling short and surround yourself with people who truly care about you.

If you see me putting miles on my “Caddy”, just know there goes a man living within his desires and so should you!

humanity

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • JBaz7 months ago

    I think you said it all and you said it well.

Jay LeTron DobbinsWritten by Jay LeTron Dobbins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.