Humans logo

I almost lost my job for hiring a deaf person...

They are isolated from the hustle and bustle of the world

By davidPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

My first encounter with deaf people was when I was 12 years old.

That day, my mother and I were walking on the streets of the county town, and a strange girl came across. She was carrying a blue shoulder bag and a sign around her neck. Standing in front of us, she pointed to her ears and open mouth, Bi drew in sign language that we couldn't understand, then opened a notebook and wrote "Foundation for the Disabled", with the phone numbers and donation amounts of many people on it.

We were a little overwhelmed, passers-by looked at us up and down, my mother hesitated for a while, gave the girl 20 yuan, and wrote down the number and amount.

Along the way, I have been thinking about whether we will be cheated. The girl's dress is not bad, and logically she is not short of money. Although 20 yuan is not much, it always makes me brooding.

When I got home, I couldn't help but tell my mom about my suspicions.

My mother doesn't care if the girl is real or not, she said:

"Some people may only meet once in a lifetime. We don't have the time and opportunity to explore the background of this person. When we meet, it proves that we have fate. If 20 yuan is not much, we should pay for the fate. If she is real , I hope is false."

At that time, I didn't agree with my mother's words. Why did we lose the 20 yuan? My mother is a good person, and I can't do it. I replied: "If it is false, I hope it is true."

My mother laughed at me and slapped her backhand: "Little bastard, if you don't say good things, are you so careful?"

There is also a deaf and mute man in our stockade, but he is more fortunate. He has craftsmanship and can earn money by himself. He found a daughter-in-law with bad legs and gave birth to a pair of normal children. People in the stockade say he is lucky. , a family of four lives better than other normal families.

Deaf people have always been a special group. They are no different from ordinary people in appearance. If you don't deal with them, you won't be able to find out. This is their secret.

After graduating from university, I joined a labor dispatch company as an intern. My daily job was to deal with various people, introduce them to jobs, and recruit suitable people for factories that cooperate with our company.

The work content is very simple, answering consultation calls and adding WeChat to discuss the work in detail.

On my first day at work, more than 5 deaf people asked for work by adding my WeChat account, and I didn't know they were deaf at first.

Someone added my WeChat, and the first sentence he said was "I want to work" in a blunt tone.

I have to deal with many strangers every day, and I have heard all kinds of languages, but generally speaking, strangers are very polite when they first start talking, so I see this kind of text from each other , was very angry inside.

How can there be such a rude person who speaks like someone owes him something, I told my colleague about it angrily.

As a result, my colleague told me that he was deaf.

They don't learn the modal particles when they learn to speak and type, so they speak directly and feel impolite. But in fact, their underlying consciousness is the same as ours, and they are mutually respectful and friendly.

A colleague also shared one thing.

His uncle is a deaf-mute, and once asked him to introduce a girlfriend to himself, he directly said "I want a girlfriend", which seems to be domineering and somewhat inappropriate, but in fact his underlying meaning is "You can Introduce me to a girlfriend?"

They don't express one thing around corners. For them, emotional expression is to use the most direct words.

I asked my colleagues, some screw-driving positions they are completely competent, why not the factory?

A colleague said: "There is nothing we can do. The factory has clear job requirements and cannot communicate properly at work. If there is a safety accident due to this, it is the factory's responsibility. The factory is a mechanized machine, and broken screws can only be thrown away. ."

This statement is realistic and cruel to them.

Once, I added a deaf person on WeChat, but the text he sent was no different from that of ordinary people. If he hadn’t honestly said that he was deaf, I wouldn’t know.

He is from Northeast China, he is very polite, he often chats with me, he talks a lot about himself, his wife left after less than 3 years of marriage, leaving behind a young daughter who is now 8 years old, I looked through his In the circle of friends, almost all videos are about her daughter, with a ponytail, wearing a red sweater, and her curvy eyebrows and eyes are very cute.

He and I talked most about his daughter. He said that the reason why he couldn't speak was because he exchanged his tongue and God for a precious daughter.

In the evening, I looked through his circle of friends. The smile of the little girl is like a lotus flower. I feel pity for this big brother. He has been in Suzhou for half a month and has been turned away by many factories...

I concealed from the company that he is deaf and mute, and introduced him to a factory that does not require physical examination. I told him to avoid situations where he needs to speak as much as possible after entering the factory, and to write that he is healthy when filling out the information.

Because he is an operator on the assembly line, he has been working in the factory for half a month.

But in the end, it was discovered by the leader.

The manager called me into the office and scolded me for concealing employee information, saying that this was a taboo in the industry and the loss to the company was immeasurable. Since I am a new employee, I only deducted half a month's salary and asked me to write a review paper.

On the same day, the big brother from the Northeast left the factory. Just when I was full of guilt, he suddenly sent two words "thank you" and added a smile.

This is the shortest and most direct thing he has ever said to me.

Deaf-mute people have always been a special group in my heart. Whenever I meet them, I will communicate with them in a special way and talk to them in a cautious tone. I think this is the greatest respect for them.

But then, I found out that I was wrong.

There is a fried rice noodle shop on the way from the company to the dormitory. It tastes good and I come here often. The shop owner always wears a pair of earphones, and after going there more often, I realize that it is not earphones, but hearing aids.

Every time I order food, I try to avoid talking to him. Instead, I try to communicate with him using gestures. Over time, I have become familiar with the boss. Every afternoon, he prepares it in advance and waits for me to pick it up.

One day I suddenly worked overtime, and I came to the store very late. Usually, the owner of that point had already closed, but he waited until that time because of me. The powder was cold, I said it would be fine to heat it in the microwave, but he said no and made me a new one.

When night fell, there were few pedestrians, and the night light fell on the stone slab at the entrance of the store. The owner and I sat face to face, and the strange and lonely hearts of two strangers collided.

The boss can speak normally, but his hearing is not good. He also noticed that I found out that he is a deaf person, poured me a beer, and gradually spit out the words in his heart:

"Brother, you are a good person, and you are very considerate of others. We are a special group, and it is our deepest secret that we cannot hear words clearly. Sometimes, I want others to know, but I am afraid of letting them know. This kind of ambivalence brings The pain is greater than the hearing impairment.

"In fact, what we want most is not the cautiousness of others, but the most common way of communication between ordinary people. Sometimes it may be difficult, but for me, my heart is satisfied. Because we know that at this time we and others People are the same.

"You know what? Every time you come to buy noodles, what I look forward to the most is that as soon as you enter the door, you shout 'boss, bring a fried rice noodles, add eggs', and then talk to me in a normal tone of work that day. After a few minutes, you took the fans and said goodbye to me and left, preparing for the next meeting. You only came to buy fans because you were hungry, not for other reasons, simple and simple.”

The store owner's words had a profound impact on me and changed my perceptions. Hearing aids not only improved his hearing, but also enriched his emotions.

After that night, I realized that my mother's 20 yuan was not a kind of charity, but a kind of emotional respect.

The deaf-mute group is biologically special, but psychologically it is the same as everyone else. What they long for is not careful and differentiated treatment, but simple and easy-to-understand communication. Therefore, the best communication with them is to treat them equally without distinction.

They are isolated from the hustle and bustle of the world, but they still wrap a fiery and soft heart.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.