Humans logo

Unexpected Kindness

The best gift is the present.

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 20 days ago 3 min read
2

There are a lot of changes and events, happening right now in the world, which range from small in their caliber, to effect others, to quite large, in their caliber to effect others. I was curious to see exactly what it was, that I was missing, in regards to living my life, in a way, that is more in alignment with the way that other people live. I began viewing programming, which was geared at keeping me up to date with the events which are taking place around the world, and locally. I also began eating foods, which I see other people eat, on a daily basis, without issue, and I began following that status quo, just to see what it was like.

I was left in a state of physical, mental and emotional disarray, after initiating these small scale changes in my life, to see what is so glamorous about living a life, that lacks discipline, and commitment to something that is greater than ourselves.

After this experience, I have had my eyes opened wider than I expected them to be. I was in a state of feeling just generally un healthy, for 7 days after initiating these brief changes. My mind was inconsolable, as was my ability to focus as intently on the tasks at hand. Fear and anger filled the space within me, where peace, and serenity had been prior. Considering the fact that this little experiment which was only a couple days in length, had far reaching, negative ramifications for me, I can't comprehend why so many people choose to live their lives in such ways, where they imbibe not only unhealthy foods, but also unhealthy content, by way of media, or the radio, or perhaps podcasts. The only thing that I can think of in regards to why people are so set in their ways in this regard, is because they have never experienced another way of life, that while it is much simpler, in many ways, the rewards of such a life, are profound in scope, and substantially abundant in their nature.

I can see how people get caught up in day to day life, and for convenience sake, most people tend to eat food from a fast food place, opposed to eating something that they prepare themselves, which has a higher nutritional content. The world has been training us, for many years now, to not just develop multi tasking techniques, it has also made our perception of the present nearly non existent. The world is a fast paced place, and that being the case, has caused the majority of our race, to become so future focused, that we seldom take time out of our day to enjoy the here and the now.

Every action that you engage in, no matter how small, has a larger impact on the surrounding area, as well as the surrounding people. I notice that as I go through my day to day life, engaging with different people on a daily basis, I always extend the gift of kindness to them. I am now seeing the ripples of such actions, in relation to people in different areas, than I regularly frequent, engaging in acts of kindness, towards one another, as well as towards myself and my brother.

When you take the time to just ask someone how their day is going, that simple question can increase the quality of that persons day, substantially, and the reason for that happening, in my opinion, is because they are being shown genuine care, and genuine kindness, which is something that we all need from time to time. My wife always taught me to try and give at least one person a compliment every day, and that small piece of heavenly advice, has quite literally, turned my life around for the better.

I live a life, where I fully embrace kindness, in everything I do, and I do my best to set a good example in this regard, for others to follow, especially the next generation, which has had the misfortune of being technology dependent from a very early age.

Brightest Blessings.

advice
2

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amento20 days ago

    This post is so informative! Good joob. That is a very interesting experience to have. If you're ever looking for new perspectives, feel free to check out my blog as well. I have recently posted some articles that explain curious psychological insights. Some of them are related to the benefits of altruism and kindness. I'd love to hear your thoughts on them :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.