Humans logo

How I Squandered Away My Money - Bella Shmurda Opens Up

Bella Shmurda talks money lessons.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Nigerian singer Bella Shmurda is one of the new faces in music that has been making quite a name for himself. In 2020, he had a major hit in his song Cash App, and that song propelled him to a lot of fame and money.

But as with many people who get money for the first time, that "new money" syndrome got to Bella Shmurda's head and he admits that he got carried away. During a new interview with Youtuber Korty EO, Bella Shmurda opened up about how he squandered a lot of his money on women, drinks, cars, etc. He also opened up about the lessons that he has learnt since then and how he has adjusted his lifestyle now. Here's what Bella Shmurda had to say about it all.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking to Korty EO about how he squandered his money, Bella Shmurda said:

It's not that I'm broke though. I used to have money like enough money but I rushed things. Only if I had sense that time as I was getting money. As I was getting the money, I was just buying a lot of things; things I wouldn’t eventually need. So at this point, as I’m getting new money I have to think about every move I want to take. There were up to 10 friends staying with me then in a four bedrooms apartment and we would still carry women.

Then I wanted to get a car, I bought three cars at once because if I want to go out I would want my boys to fill up another car so we can be in a convoy. I'm coming from nothing, I will now start with 10 boys, 15 boys.

You can't compare Wizzy's money to Omah Lay's money. You can't compare Rema's money to Ruger's money. They are richer than themselves and you can't compare my own money to Olamide's money, it's not possible. And you that you don't use your sense, you'll just be looking at Olamide and Asake balling, you too will now follow and call waiter to do dorime. Ha!

I went to the club one day, I spent N2 million in the club. I was feeling like Wizkid, I go fuck up! I was dancing and my money was finishing. Now, I can still spend N2 million in a day but not on drinks. I can spend N2 million in a day but it should be something I would get return or something I can account for.

I hope a lot of people, especially the youth, learn from Bella Shmurda's mistakes. When one gets money, it's not to come and flex on everybody and waste all your money on inconsequential things. It is to put it down and use it for sensible things, things one can account for, things that can give return. I'm happy to see Bella Shmurda has learnt his lesson and I'm happy to see him talking about it because it is good for people to hear this side of things as well. What do you think about what Bella Shmurda said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.