Humans logo

How I Overcame My Anger Issues

How I Found Help and Healing

By Shaheer AbbasPublished about a year ago 2 min read
How I Overcame My Anger Issues
Photo by Amel Majanovic on Unsplash

I've always had a problem with anger. I'd get angry at the smallest things, like when someone cut me off in traffic or when my kids made a mess. It would often lead to me saying or doing things that I regretted later. I knew that I needed help, but I didn't know where to turn.

One day, I was in a particularly bad mood. I was running late for work, and my kids were fighting in the back seat. I slammed on the brakes and yelled at them to be quiet. They just laughed at me, which made me even angrier. I pulled over to the side of the road and started to cry.

I knew that I couldn't keep living like this. I was tired of being angry all the time. I was tired of hurting the people I loved. I decided that I needed to get help.

I went to see a therapist, and she helped me to understand why I was so angry. She told me that my anger was a way of coping with my fear and sadness. She helped me to develop healthy coping mechanisms, like exercise, meditation, and journaling.

It hasn't been easy, but I've come a long way. I'm no longer the angry person that I used to be. I'm still learning, but I'm confident that I can continue to improve.

If you're struggling with anger issues, I encourage you to seek help. There are people who can help you, and you don't have to go through this alone.

Here are some of the things that have helped me to cope with my anger:

Exercise: Exercise is a great way to release pent-up anger. It also helps to improve your mood and reduce stress.

Meditation: Meditation can help you to calm your mind and body. It can also help you to develop a greater awareness of your thoughts and emotions.

Journaling: Journaling can help you to express your thoughts and feelings in a safe and healthy way. It can also help you to identify the triggers that cause you to become angry.

Talk to someone you trust: Talking to someone you trust about your anger can help you to feel less alone. It can also help you to get some perspective on your situation.

By Radu Florin on Unsplash

Here are some additional tips for dealing with anger:

Take a deep breath: When you feel yourself getting angry, take a deep breath. This will help to calm you down and give you a moment to think before you react.

Walk away: If you can, walk away from the situation that is making you angry. This will give you time to cool down and come back to the situation when you are feeling calmer.

Count to ten: This is another way to give yourself a moment to calm down before you react.

Avoid alcohol and drugs: Alcohol and drugs can worsen anger issues. If you are struggling with anger, it is important to avoid these substances.

Get enough sleep: When you are well-rested, you are better able to handle stress and anger.

Eat a healthy diet: Eating a healthy diet can help to improve your mood and reduce stress.

Practice relaxation techniques: Relaxation techniques, such as yoga or meditation, can help to reduce stress and anger.

If you're struggling with anger issues, please know that you're not alone. There are people who can help you. Don't be afraid to reach out for help.

listhumanityhow toartadvice

About the Creator

Shaheer Abbas

Introducing Shaheer Abbas, whose articles captivate, educate, and inspire readers with every line. With an insatiable curiosity and a penchant for storytelling, fearlessly explores diverse topics, leaving readers hungry for more.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shaheer AbbasWritten by Shaheer Abbas

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.