Humans logo

How I Learned to Focus (But I Still Forgot What I Was Focusing On)

AKA: Umm, Yeah This is About ADHD 😅

By Verity GalePublished 11 months ago • 3 min read

I'm 16 years old, and I was recently diagnosed with ADHD. I'm not sure if I should be proud or embarrassed that it took them this long to figure it out. I mean, I've been bouncing off the walls since I was a toddler. But now that I know what's up, I'm starting to think of ADHD as a superpower. It's like I have a built-in turbo boost that lets me see the world in a different way. And that's pretty cool, if you ask me.

Oh, Yeah- We Gotta Talk About Me

I was always a bright child, and I was quickly identified as gifted. School was a breeze for me, and I excelled in my classes. My bedroom was like a shrine to my academic success. 'Top Student' awards were plastered on every wall, and my trophies and medals were displayed on our tiny white shelves... I was essentially a walking advertisement for my parents' high expectations. However, even though I was smart, I struggled with procrastination, distraction, and a constant change in hobbies. My family placed a high value on academic achievement, and they expected me to keep straight A's and be the best at everything. They didn't see my struggles as ADHD, and they often accused me of slacking off.

As I got older, my symptoms of ADHD worsened. I was like a firehose of ideas, constantly spewing out new and exciting thoughts. I couldn't focus on anything for more than a few minutes, and I was always getting sidetracked by the next shiny object. But I was also funny, extroverted, and creative. I could make people laugh, and I was always coming up with new and interesting ways to solve problems. These qualities helped me to keep up my image of being a successful student. My teachers and classmates loved me because I was funny and book-smart, and they often overlooked my struggles.

Woohoo! Wait... I Have A Disorder?

I was eventually diagnosed with ADHD when I was 15 years old. It was a relief to finally have an explanation for my struggles, and it helped me to understand myself better. I started to learn about ADHD and how to manage my symptoms. I also started to connect with other people who had ADHD, and it was helpful to know that I wasn't alone. Living with ADHD can be challenging, but it's also possible to live a successful and fulfilling life. I'm still learning how to manage my symptoms, but I'm grateful for the diagnosis. It helped me to understand myself better, and it gave me the tools I needed to succeed. I've started using some strategies to help me focus, like setting timers and breaking down tasks into smaller steps. I've also started to be more mindful of my impulses, and I'm trying to think before I speak. (Emphasis on trying...)

It's not always easy, but I'm starting to see progress. I'm able to stay on task better, and I'm not forgetting as much stuff. I'm also starting to feel more confident in myself, and I'm not as afraid to ask for help when I need it.

I know that I'm not the only one who has struggled (or is struggling) with ADHD. There are millions of people around the world who are living with this condition. I want to share my story to inspire others to see the beauty, struggle, and power of neurodivergence.

ADHD is not a "disorder." It's just a different operating system. We're not broken. We're just running on different software.

My Attempt At Being Inspirational-

We are the misfits, the outliers, the ones who don't quite fit in. We are the ones who see the world in a different way, and we are the ones who are often misunderstood.

But we are also the ones who are capable of great things. We are the ones who are creative, innovative, and resourceful. We are the ones who are not afraid to take risks, and we are the ones who are not afraid to blaze our own trails.

We are the ADHD brain, and we are here to stay. We are not broken. We are not defective. We are just different. And that's okay.

We are the butterflies in the caterpillar's cocoon, waiting to emerge. We are the stars that are still forming, waiting to shine. We are the possibilities, waiting to be realized.

We are the ADHD brain, and we are the future. 💡

advicehumanity

About the Creator

Verity Gale

Welcome to my world, where art, music, science, the latest news, and, most importantly, stories converge 🌎. Join me on this literary journey as I connect the threads of storytelling with the wonders of our evolving reality.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Ellynn Vertilus11 months ago

    This is wonderful. What a profound way to take off the stigma of such an important topic. And also, this is beautifully written

Verity GaleWritten by Verity Gale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.