Humans logo

His Smile

The Smile That Stole My Heart

By Judith AkabsPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like


It was a gray and rainy day, the kind that can dampen anyone's spirits. I was feeling a bit down myself, lost in a sea of thoughts and worries. As I walked through the crowded city streets, I couldn't help but notice that everyone seemed to be in a hurry, their faces drawn and devoid of any joy. That is, until I saw him.

He was standing on a street corner, handing out flyers for a local charity event. His face was beaming with a radiant smile that seemed to defy the gloomy weather. I couldn't help but be drawn to him, like a moth to a flame.

As I approached him, he held out a flyer with that infectious smile still plastered on his face. "Hey there, would you like to join us for a great cause?" he asked warmly.

I hesitated for a moment, not sure if I had the time or the energy to commit to another event. But his smile was so inviting, so genuine, that I found myself nodding before I even realized it.

"Great! It's going to be a fun day, I promise," he said, his eyes lighting up as he handed me the flyer.

We chatted for a bit, and I couldn't help but notice how his smile never wavered. It was as if he had a secret well of happiness within him, constantly fueling that radiant grin. It was contagious, and I felt my own spirits lifting despite the dreary weather.

As the day of the charity event approached, I found myself looking forward to it with an excitement I hadn't felt in a long time. There was something about him and his smile that had sparked a newfound sense of hope in me.

The day of the event arrived, and I joined the team of volunteers at the bustling venue. As I looked around, I saw that familiar smile again, welcoming everyone with open arms. It seemed like he knew everyone's name, and his genuine interest in each person he met was palpable.

Throughout the day, I watched him interact with people from all walks of life. His smile was a universal language, breaking down barriers and bringing people together. Whether it was a child, an elderly person, or someone struggling with their own hardships, he treated each person with the same warmth and kindness.

As the event drew to a close, I couldn't help but feel a sense of awe and admiration for him. He had this remarkable ability to find joy in the simplest of things and share it with others. It was like he had unlocked the secret to true happiness, and he was passing it on to everyone he met.

Over the weeks that followed, we became friends. I discovered that his life hadn't always been smooth sailing. He had faced his share of challenges and setbacks, just like anyone else. But instead of letting those experiences define him, he had chosen to rise above them, embracing life with a resilient spirit and that unwavering smile.

We spent hours talking about our dreams, our fears, and our passions. His optimism was infectious, and he encouraged me to pursue my own dreams with the same enthusiasm. Whenever I faced a hurdle, he was there with a word of encouragement and, of course, that ever-present smile.

As our friendship deepened, I found myself falling for him, not just because of his smile, but because of the person he was. He had a genuine heart, caring for others selflessly and spreading happiness wherever he went. It wasn't just his smile that drew me in; it was the person behind it.

One evening, as we watched the sun set over the city skyline, I mustered the courage to tell him how I felt. I was nervous, unsure of how he would respond. But as I looked into his eyes, I saw that familiar warmth, and his smile widened into a grin.

"I've been hoping you'd say that," he said softly, reaching for my hand. In that moment, I knew that my life had changed forever. With him, I had found a love so pure and genuine, one that made my heart sing.

Our love blossomed, and I discovered that being with him was like living in a perpetual state of joy. He brought out the best in me, inspiring me to be a better person every day. Together, we faced the challenges that life threw our way, knowing that as long as we had each other, we could overcome anything.

Years have passed since that rainy day when I first saw his smile. We've built a life together, filled with laughter, love, and adventure. And his smile still holds the same magic it did when I first laid eyes on it.

In the end, I've come to realize that his smile wasn't just a facial expression; it was a reflection of the beautiful soul he possessed. It was a beacon of hope, a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is always a reason to smile.

His smile taught me to find joy in the little things, to embrace life with open arms, and to spread kindness wherever I go. And for that, I will forever be grateful.

---

friendshipdating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.