Humans logo

Healing Beads

Universal Prayers

By Amy Chris Keiper aka LC HarrisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Art Design property of Hart Starr Designs and Artist, Lueya lueya.deviantart.com

My craft is jewellery making and design. Ever since my Sister taught me how to repair and make certain jewellery pieces from bracelets to ear rings, it has been a favorite art form of mine. We used to spend quality time crafting together, and sometimes I can still see some of her style within my own art, making a beautiful handed down tradition that we share. I sometimes sketch out ideas in my pocket sketch book for more elaborate jewellery dreams. Sometimes I am inspired by a particular bead, color, stone, story, image, etc. or possibly I may even be inspired by the person I might be making the piece for.

My favorite jewellery piece to craft is to make prayer beads. I find from the first snip with my scissors of the hemp cord I use, to stringing each bead in my planned pattern, until the last snip after I tie off the end to be very meditative and healing. Beading brings me a moment of peace in a crazy disorganized world. I put love and positive thoughts into each bead I string, and in every piece I make. It delights me to know that someone might benefit from that positive intent when they use the beads to pray, wear, or simply enjoy as a piece of art to decorate with.

When I felt scared recently over the pandemic crisis, I turned to my beading, cutting lengths of ribbon to braid and tie beads into, to fashion and make into peace braids. My peace braids make great bracelets, book marks, and are intended to be hung to promote peace in your bedroom while you sleep, or for peace in any room. At the time the braiding was more calming to me, than my typical prayer bead work. The extra knots like tying away your troubles seemed soothing for me.

I usually fashion my prayer beads that they have a multitude of uses from simply being pretty whether to be worn or hung decoratively, to aromatherapy use due to the lava beads I often incorporate, or for the very special purpose of counting out your prayers and intents or meditations. Some even find my beads to be a beautiful elaborate book mark. I find it so meaningful that I can craft something pretty, that can bring some joy to others.

I like to incorporate different themes, colors, and meaningful images by adding jewellery charms and ornate charm pieces to my prayer beads, such as: common symbols, flowers, animals, moons, stars, and endless possibilities, that each pattern and piece is unique onto itself. When I do choose to repeat a pattern my loving intents will be unique to that piece, and as each is lovingly and patiently strung by hand, none will ever be exactly the same.

I love that my peaceful meditative craft practice, that brings me calm through my storms, might bring peace and delight to whoever gets to receive a stand of my prayer beads for them to incorporate into their lives, as they need in the endless potentials of possibilities. Sometimes small things like a craft, a piece of art, a reminder of the beauty around us can be so meaningful for all involved. It is a beautiful thing to share from the heart.

I believe through the meditative practice of stringing the prayer beads to the various potential uses for them, that it is a very healing craft that continues to share its healing with the recipient as well. I am grateful for my healing beads, and it is my hope that they do bring some beauty, joy, healing, peace, and charm to our chaotic world.

art
Like

About the Creator

Amy Chris Keiper aka LC Harrison

I am a gothic Horror/Fantasy writer and poet, entertainer, musician, artist/designer, metaphysician & Minister (Reverend, Priestess).

"Without knowing imagination, sometimes doesn't it seem overbearing to believe in magic," ACK.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.