Humans logo

A Teacher Was My Mentor

Challenge Hometown Heroes by LC Harrison aka Amy Chris Keiper

By Amy Chris Keiper aka LC HarrisonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

I have had so many amazing mentors in my life, that all helped me to become the person I am today, and I am very grateful to them all. Some were my loving and incredible relatives, caring patient innovative teachers, and even my beautiful first employer. I greatly admire many incredible women, that I have known and have taken inspiration from. I wish I could write of them all, and I dedicate this article to them all.

So many of my teachers were the most amazing mentors just by being themselves. Still, I often return in my heart to my first teacher, after my Mother and Sister, who were always there for me. I was just three years old. My Sister was a local theater actress and singer at our local playhouse, where she did many plays, musicals, and music reviews. I was a music lover always watching my favorite actress at the time the great inspirational Shirley Temple as she danced, acted, and sang in her films. One day, I made the demand to my Mother, "I want to dance."

My Mother likely was a bit concerned by my demands, as I was a tiny frail waif from having been born three months early, I had breathing issues that affected my play days, and slower development as was expected in my case. My Sister was taking some dance lessons for her musical theater work from a local accredited dance performer and teacher. I have been told in later years that my doctor felt it would be good for my development, coordination, and strength building.

It happened that my Sister's instructor was an early believer in dance therapy, and held in her heart that everyone could dance, regardless of size, age, and physical handicaps. Most dance instructors would have turned me away and never given me a chance to know the love of dance, but somehow the way things aligned the perfect person was there for me. This incredible lady latter went on to teach special needs children, and I admire her heart for that. By the time I was three and a half I had been taking lessons, and had my first performance.

I often return in my mind to little things I learned from this lady, and to my days of dance that forever are part of my spirit and love of music and rhythm. I still have interest in dance therapy and choreography. Dancing remains part of my strength maintenance, and always sets my soul free. It is something that fills my heart and spirit with true joy. I am forever grateful to my dance mentor for granting me this gift.

It wasn't just about dance. From this amazing mentor I learned to be patient with myself, to never give up, to keep trying, to manage my frustrations, to believe in my inner strength, how to work with a team, how to be kind, and how to entertain with a smile. We often did charity performances to brighten the days of those who really needed it. We would perform at the church sponsored fair, and at the local school stage. I developed an appreciation for brightening other's days, and for loving to entertain. Charity became a part of who I am, and something I always do when I am able. I love to help others, and I learned this kindness from my dance Mentor.

She also taught me that how you look, your weight, size, height are not important it is your health, faith, heart, and doing what you love in spite of it all that is important. She wasn't a quitter either. A tiny lady, who had been in a car accident, and put on some weight never stopped dancing, and I believe my never give up spirit was born here from her example. She had performed in off broadway productions, which showed her spirit and love for dance.

She also reinforced my Mother's teaching of respecting everyone despite our belief differences. I remember her telling a story to my Sister and I about a spiritual concept illustrated by a wagon wheel. All the spokes seem far apart, but towards the center hub they touch and meet. When just one spoke is broken the entire wheel is weakened. To this illustration was placed all the different faiths in the world with the divine in the center. The world needs us all, and ultimately we all meet in the same place as part of the divine spirit. I am now a universal minister, and I hold this teaching close in my heart.

There were other lessons, but I am forever grateful for just the gift of dance, and for the lifelong inspiration my mentor has brought into my heart. Wherever she is, I am certain she is making a compassionate difference in many many lives.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Amy Chris Keiper aka LC Harrison

I am a gothic Horror/Fantasy writer and poet, entertainer, musician, artist/designer, metaphysician & Minister (Reverend, Priestess).

"Without knowing imagination, sometimes doesn't it seem overbearing to believe in magic," ACK.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.