Humans logo

Hats for the homeless

and mittens too!

By C.T. COLEPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Hats for the homeless
Photo by Annisa Ica on Unsplash

I have always been one of the people to make a New Years resolution that I am never going to keep. My resolution usually revolves around the classics like losing weight, saving money, fixing my marriage and while they are not unattainable, they are unrealistic for me. This year I decided to go a completely different route. I started a job last year that involved working in and for the community. It is my dream job and I have already learned so much in the time that I have been there. I have also always been a person that keeps myself busier then busy. I find that the busier I am the more I stay out of my own head and in the real world. I use creativity as an outlet for my stress and to relax my body and mind. One of my favorite things to do to relax is crocheting. I usually don’t make anything specific, it is mostly creating simple blankets, unravelling them, and crocheting them again.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

This is where my New Years resolution for this year comes into play. I have decided this year that I could take my relaxing crochet time and turn it into something super rewarding that gives back to the community. I have made a resolution this year to make as many hat and mitten sets as I can. I chose this resolution because not only will it make take time out of each day to crochet which calms my mind, relaxes my body and relieves stress, but it will also help the homeless when next winter rolls around as I will be donating anything that I make to be handed out to them. I do not have a lot of money, but I do believe I will be able to afford a little bit of yarn each payday to keep me going for the year. My goal is to do at least 52 sets, which is one for each week of the year. I know that this will be a resolution that I will be able to keep as I have an easier time doing things for other people then I do for myself.

Photo by Ev on Unsplash

The homeless are in such need all over the world. Most of us know that they do not have things like a job and place to live. What most of us don’t know is that they don’t have a lot of the simple things we take for granted like food and clothing. I have come to find out that there are at least 223 homeless people on my community’s streets at this very moment. I am hoping that I can get to the point and be able to afford the funds to make a set for each one of them. That would amount to making just under four times my goal. I hope that there is a surprise in it for me and I end up being able to afford to make enough for all of the homeless in my community.

Photo by Steve Knutson on Unsplash

This resolution is both giving and selfish because it gives something back to the community but will also make me feel good about myself as an individual all while I relax on my couch. I hope that giving back to the community while I am taking a needed break from life, that I will be rewarded with upping the effectiveness of my crochet time when it comes to my mental and physical health. I have always done things to try and make people feel better about themselves but have left myself lost in the foreground taking the bulk of the damage from the things that I am not responsible for, mostly other people’s feelings. Wish me luck on my resolution for the year and I wish all of you happiness, healthiness, and success especially during the difficult times that seem to be dragging themselves out.

Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

humanity

About the Creator

C.T. COLE

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C.T. COLEWritten by C.T. COLE

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.