Humans logo

GLOBAL TEL LINK

Within those walls, I made a change

By Rayna OrtegaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
GLOBAL TEL LINK
Photo by Etienne Delorieux on Unsplash

I was doing my homework when my phone rang. Me,¨hello?¨ operator,¨this is GLOBAL TEL LINK you have a prepaid phone call from John Doe an inmate at Wasco CA state prison to accept this call dial zero now to decline this call and block all future calls dial five now.¨ Zero pressed. Operator, ¨thank you for choosing the global tell link all calls may be recorded and monitored go ahead.¨ Me, ¨hello?¨John Doe,¨Rayna how you been Mija? How is school going? When you gonna send me some pictures? I wanted to talk to you about something if you’re not busy.¨Me, ¨I´ve been good school is good too no I am not busy what’s up? How have you been how is everything going for you? Staying outta trouble? I will send your pictures out this weekend okay? So what you need to talk to me about?¨

John Doe,¨Well I wanted to thank you for taking care of me while I am in here but most importantly thank you for being a good person altogether with you blessing someone randomly they paid it forward to me and I have gotten a blessing because of your good deeds I thought you should know you made a change for me within these walls for me and my new celly. A few months ago while you were paying your bills you blessed someone by paying their electric bill which was $107.38 he wanted to repay you but you told him to bless someone when you see itś needed.

Almost like paying it forward only, it’s blessing it forward. I got a new celly but before that, I had some issues in the yard and long story short he paid my debt for me when I asked him, ¨why he helped me?¨he said,¨ I´m blessing someone in need like someone has blessed me on the streets when I was in need and could not pay one of my bills for my baby moms which saved me from the drama at the time. I couldn’t believe there are actually selfless people roaming around still I promised her that I would follow through. I got arrested within that week now months later here I am blessing it forward where I see itś needed. ¨I asked what was the girl’s name?¨ he said, ¨Her name was Rayna.¨

I was shocked to hear one of my good deeds has made itś way in the world for a change. It may not be a big change but it was obviously enough to reach back to me. The day I was paying my bills I happen to have a little extra left. I overheard a couples conversation outside the guy and girl were both bickering about what sound like money so I waiting for the guy to walk in the bill pay office... I said, ¨good afternoon?¨ He said, ¨good afternoon.¨

I said,¨ although you are not asking for my help I´d like to help you, I will pay your highest bill in full right now if you can promise me you will do the same for someone else in return when it´s needed?¨ The guy I can do that but how will know if I did it or not?¨ Me,¨I guess itś taking a risk but then again maybe itś really up to the person willing to accept something they are exactly ready accept the terms of condition for I asked the guy have you saw pay it forward?¨ He said, no why?¨

I told him, ¨I will leave it up to you. Watch that movie if you get a chance and what I am attempting to do is almost the same only I choose to bless it to the next. Let me see your highest bill.¨ He handed me his electric bill which was $107.38 I paid it in full gave him his receipt and headed for the door. The guy asked me, ¨hey whatś your name?¨ I replied with, ¨Rayna and walked out to my car and was gone before he could ask me anything more.

I honestly just assumed he would never follow through and I got Bammboozeld. I´ve done a few selfless good deeds that many times have gone unnoticed and unheard of ever again. The danger it saved a close friend of mine from way more than applicable it was a change to the world that I did not expect; especially not that direction.

I try to do good deeds a lot more now with the same expectations. First and only so far that has made a change that I am aware of. I hope to make as many changes to the world as I can. We may not be able to fight COVID19 with guns but we can make a difference in humankind by wearing masks and following COVID19 health procedures and like that we can fight back and protect each other´s well-being. I stay masked up.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rayna Ortega

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.