Humans logo

Getting Ready For Surgery

Supplies for my Osteotomy

By Casey Ann PattersonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Ive been getting ready for my Osteotomy or bunion removal as some people call it. Sitting here with my new bed desk, granted it’s not the over the bed desk I was hoping for but its better than the alternative which was nothing. You see I am getting ready for surgery. I am having my bunion fixed which can be a totally painful with a long 8-week recovery period, but “this doesn’t have to be a horrible experience” was my first thought. As all people should, I researched my procedure and got a good idea of what I needed to do and buy to help me get through the next 8 weeks or so. I believe I was successful, but I will let you know in exactly two days how helpful my plotting and planning really have been. I think I covered all the bases.

After reading of my procedure and recovery period I sprang into action far ahead of time and scheduled my procedure at the end of December. I knew my work was going to have to have time to temporarily fill my possition, and I needed time to save money for three-month’s worth of bills. As a full-time Assistant Manager, I do get some pretty good benefits. I will be receiving temporary disability through my work, which is only 30% of my normal paycheck. With work situated and my bills paid off ahead of time I have less worrying to do and more focusing on recovering. My work was also pleased that I gave three months’ notice of my surgery, so they did not have to scramble around and figure out how they would function without me.

I made sure to take my vacation time a week before my surgery. For anyone who has ever had surgery you would know that pre op Doctors’ visits, blood tests, and now a COVID 19 screening has been added to this list of musts before surgery. All my pre op appointments fell in the time span of one week before my surgery. I could have left work without pay, but remember I was trying to get financially ahead. No, taking your paid vacation time for post-surgery appointments isnt how anyone wants to spend their vacation, but I am very glad I did. Taking a week off was not just useful for Doctors appointments. It gave me time to fall proof my home, clean out my space, organize my useful belongings and finish buying a few last-minute things.

I found many helpful articles on the things I would need Post-op surgery, and the Doctor had a few suggestions of things I overlooked such as a shower boot so my foot can stay dry in the shower. I was informed that for two and a half weeks I could not get my foot wet and that a shower boot will come in handy. To be honest I did not even know what exactly a shower boot was untill I talked to the Dr. it’s just so amazing how far medical supplies have come. If only I had this wonderful contraption when I fractured my arm at the age of 9. Back then we just tapped a plastic bag around my Arm and called it good but somehow water would almost always get inside my grocery bagged arm. The shower boot is air tight and it even has a seal on it to keep the water totally out. My shower boot only cost around $15 and it is reusable I bought mine off Amazon, I love the hassle free online option for getting the things I need from the comfort of my couch.

Another thing that was a no brainer for me was to purchase a non-slip tub mat and a cheap shower chair or stool. After searching Amazon and not being successful in finding a shower stool that met my needs and my price range, I ended up going online and looking at whats in stock at my local Pharmacies, Rite aids cheapest shower chair was $89. Way to pricey for a chair I only plan on using for 4 to 6 weeks. After some searching, I wound up at Walgreens and to my relief they had a shower bench for my price range. It was $45 very sturdy and made from antimicrobial materials. It’s nothing fancy and fits in my tub sideways. I put it in the shower and being on the leaner side has a great benefit when it comes to narrow bathtubs and shower benches. For anyone who is not steady on their feet, and is a fall risk to purchase and transfer shower seat with slide over handles. Those kinds of seats give you the ability to easily get in and out of the shower without having to step into a tub, which could cause you to slip and fall with my Walgreens Loyalty Card I scored $10 in Walgreens rewards. Searching for the right shower stool, bench, or chair, felt a lot like the story of Goldy locks and the tree bears, if Goldy had over 50 chairs to try out, and she had to pay attention to the price.

I bought a generic no slip tub liner from family dollar, to prevent falls getting in and out of the tub, I also bought a surprisingly stable suction cup handrail just in case I need the extra support. On my buying list of must haves where reusable soft Ice packs which I now have 4 of, I made sure to get a leg wedge for post-surgery, to elevate my foot to keep down the swelling. I also went and grabbed a commode from my mother’s house that my grandfather used to use when he was alive. I bought liners and will be double bagging them, and I will be putting a little bit of kitty litter in it to soak up the liquid. My theory behind this is that with it bagged and me on crutches it will be easier to carry a bag of waste down our stairs. I decided to try kitty litter because, I want to empty my own waste and seeing we have no upstairs bathroom a commode is the best I could do. My goal is to be as independent in this as possible.

I made sure to get groceries! This is something often overlooked. As the main cook in our house this is my biggest challenge, so I bought a lot of Campbells chunky soups, and easy prep foods. Not over processed frozen crap, but I bought crock pot meals, hamburger helper kits (which is not our normal fare) and items that are open microwave and go. I made sure to have a large stock of water right now I have 5 cases. I made sure We were stocked up on laundry detergent, softener, and dryer sheets. As usual I chose seventh generation Lavender laundry products. Paper towels are a go because I bought a large case of them. I also got Adult body wipes and baby wipes, I also bought Make up remover and face cleansing wipes. I went to Walmart and spent a good penny or 2 there. I did not just get food and paper towels. I also got a very small drink fridge/cooler from Frigidaire. This cost me $29.00 and it was worth every penny. I have it stationed in my recovery area and have filled it with waters and mini sodas. Along with all this I bought a new collapsing tray table, and sense I am going to be in bed for a little bit I decided a couple husband pillows where in order so I can properly “sit up” and still be elevating my foot.

I went to 5 below which is a store that offers all sorts of things. Everything from makeup to home decor, electronics, games, puzzles books and fitness products. I chose to buy new paints and canvases, a new writing book titled “300 Ways To Begin Writing A Wonderful Story” and a book titled “To Do, Make Art Every Day” By Katie Vernon. Both books should help me keep a healthy level of entertainment and allow me to tap into my creative side that has been sucked out of me from working my 40 plus hours a week. Don’t get me wrong I am not complaining. I love my job! I am paid well and have pretty good benefits, but it does not leave much time for anything else. So during this time I chose to work on my writing and art portfolios. At 5 below I purchased a small light up vanity mirror so I can still do my makeup. I may be stuck in bed. Overall, I will let you know in a few days how all my choices pan out. I may be over prepared but I’d rather be over prepared than under prepared sitting with a bag of peas on my foot.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Casey Ann Patterson

A horrible speller, but and aspiring writer. Born and raised in Upstate NY. I have written many blogs on social media, mostly about spirituality. I attended Broome Community College where I was encouraged to become a free lance writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.