Humans logo

The Worlds Gone Crazy

Society and its decline

By Casey Ann PattersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The moral decline of the population is at hand. I believe the American population is fast approaching a total lack of empathy and an inability to relate to other people. Roads are filled with road raging idiots who cannot control themselves or phone junkies who do not care enough to put down their phones. People at stores have been having out burst and are treating employees horribly.

I have noticed people do not tolerate the homeless, instead of helping or reaching out businesses send them away because of panhandling. I have watched grown over middle age women mock a poor homeless girl who has a drug problem. Calling her a loser and thinking they are better than her as she started looking into the cigarette can to find a cigarette butt worth smoking. Feeling sickened and appalled by my colleagues. I went over and asked if she needed a cig. because she was picking through used butts in the employee ash tray. I then asked if she was okay and she said she was thirsty, so I gave her my drink. My colleagues then turned to me and said in a nasty voice. “YOU CAN GET IN TROUBLE FOR THAT!!!!!!”. I could feel the pure hate coming off her as she walked away. I am an extremely empathetic person and the total lack of empathy for humanity has me sickened.

The homeless girl said “Thank you! But I don’t want you to get in trouble.” I reassured her I would not get in trouble. I told her “We did nothing wrong, you did not ask me for anything, so theres no way they can say you where pan handling” I proceeded to talk to her about getting help for her addiction and explaining from experience what she can do to go from rock bottom to making something of her life because I had almost been in her situation. I am unsure if any of what I had to say impacted her life in anyway. All we can do is try. Reaching out to one another simply listening to someone may make a difference in someone’s life.

It seems like social conditioning is at hand. People are becoming more and more disconnected. Disconnected, Desensitized, and brain washed. How could this be happening? The answer is right in front of our faces, under our fingers, and in our ears. The answer is social media, It is helping to groom us to detach from each other. we spend so much time sitting behind our cell phones and devices its unreal! Call me old but, I remember having to use what was called a landline or house phone. (I must confess I still have a house phone.). We used to call each other and have get togethers. Neighbors would check on each other, and neighbor hood kids would all go play outside with one another, and we were all connected by real life activities.

Just when it seems we are on the brink of total disconnection COVID 19 steps in and divides us even more. Social distancing rules have set in and getting together is no longer a “safe” thing to do. Laws have been put into place that even local law enforcement refuse to enforce because it infringes on the rights of the people. Overall seeing how the condition of society is becoming more damning has really opened my eyes to how the vast majority of the population has lost empathy and tolerance. I wish I had the answer to the problem, but it’s so complicated and there has been so much damage done that it would be like struggling out of quick sand.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Casey Ann Patterson

A horrible speller, but and aspiring writer. Born and raised in Upstate NY. I have written many blogs on social media, mostly about spirituality. I attended Broome Community College where I was encouraged to become a free lance writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.