Humans logo

Flaws And Imperfections

People Can Be Flawed, Systems Should Not

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
5
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This was initially inspired by a long-running problem I have with our platform, but I am trying to deal with that but it then got me thinking about how systems should always be flawless and should work, while the flaws and imperfections in our character actually make us what we are.

The music is "Bad" by U2, I love the simple hypnotic rhythm, and I think that it fits with what I am trying to say here. I also included "Crackin' Up" by The rolling Stones because that is how we often feel when we dwell too much on our own flaws and imperfections.

Flaws And Imperfections Build Us

We live with ourselves 24/7 and know and see every flaw and imperfection in ourselves and often that preys on our minds. We are too fat, too thin, not intelligent enough, we are lazy, we don't look out for others as much as we should, and we are failures at so many things.

I feel I don't work hard enough, and I don't support people enough, especially in the vocal community. I feel that I am a failure because my poetry seldom is seen as a Top Story by Vocal, but the reality is that it is only Vocal that is missing out. My audience gush over how good my work and I consider myself one of the finest villanelle creators on Vocal and many of my friends and audience would back that up.

My feeling of self worth may be seen as a fault or flaw by many, but is the way I am.

Some of my friends see themselves similarly and I try to tell them How wonderful they really are. They are often more successful than me on Vocal, and also outside in the real world, but they still focus on what they see as their own faults.

The thing is that our true friends never see our faults and imperfections as faults and imperfections. The see them as part of our character, as something that makes us who we are. I would not want anything to change in the character of my friends. I just hope that their life is as perfect as is can be for them, and improves in the ways that make things better for them.

We see faults in people who are not friends, and that may create an annoyance for us, but we can live with that if we and our friends are not affected.

Remember your flaws and imperfections are part of what makes you YOU, and no friend will want that to change in you.

Flaws and Imperfections In Things

We are human and we build and create things to do things for us. These things can not have flaws or imperfections, because if they did, they would not function as they were required to for us.

Sometimes there will be a flaw or fault in something we have created, but we do have to fix that thing. Our own imperfections make us who we are, but faults and imperfections in systems and machines must be rectified or the things won't work, and sometimes that can lead to serious consequences.

Imagine brakes failing on a car, a ship that had a leak, a plane who's landing gear didn't come down. They are just a few examples of faults that are absolute showstoppers.

Conclusion

Things have to work and do what they are supposed to, but we work with our flaws and imperfections. I know I am not a perfect human in many respects, but I am a damned near-perfect friend and creator and worker. I think most of us can feel that about ourselves.

reviewhumanityhow tofriendshipadvice
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 15 days ago

    Glad to see that you recognize your value as a person, creator, and friend.

  • Ameer Bibi16 days ago

    You beautifully wrote that flaws are the part of every individual life

  • Mariann Carroll16 days ago

    I love the beautiful message in this story. 🥰🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.