Humans logo

Farza tales

Free bird

By aysha valenzuelaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

There once was a time where we were complete strangers. Connected by blood, but never in the slightest did we know anything about each other. You left when I was little, such vague memories I had of you for a very long time. I grew up never knowing my worth, or never knowing how a man was to treat me. These vital lessons every girl should learn. Until that one snowy night when I called you to save me from the gates of hell. I had not gone in at that time (hell I mean), because you drove 13 hours to pick me up. I remember when I got in to that rental a mess, smelling of truck stop, my heart broken, and full of fear. As I got into your vehicle to head “home” (at least for the time being) it was like getting into a strangers car. The whole way was an awkward silence. I had nothing but the clothes on my back from snowy Colorado to the sunny state of California. I had been apart from my kids, just like you were from us. I remember my entire time getting to really know you. With the gift of walking in your shoes for a couple months astrayed from my babies, I understood why you were absent. I understood why you too were separated from me. My time with you definitely closed chapters and started new ones. I realized how alike we were in so many ways. All the times when I was little where my mom would yell at me “that I would end up like my fucking dad” at the time I feared. Those fears were put to rest because you were pretty fucking awesome dad. I was able to hear your side of the story, not only my mothers which made you out to be some horrible person. I realized that the longer you were away from us the harder it must of been to face us, because that’s exactly how I felt. I remember we saw Led Zepplica a cover band of Led Zeppelin, I was so excited to experience that with you because my mom always said you loved them when I was little. So this became one of my favorite bands because of you. My sons middle name is Zeppelin. We sang every song at the top of our lungs. When we went dancing at that Mexican restaurant by the house, with that cowboy hat of yours. Having a Redskins jersey in your closet when you were a Raiders fan, just because they played on the Super Bowl I was born on. How can I ever forget the infamous shorts with your big long boots saying creepily “mad max, mad max”. I am so happy that I got these memories with you, gratitude engulfs my heart when I think about all those mistakes I made at that time that led me to get to know you. Led me to fucking heal. You told me during that time “it took 34 years to get you back”. I replied “kicking yourself in the ass now”. You came back with and I will never forget “no it’s bitchin”. I understood you more than you will ever know. I know why you did not say anything about your illness. I know because I would have done the same thing. It just fucking came to me as I write this that you were a free bird on earth, and have to be even more free after death. The ultimate freedom dad you so deserve it. Thank you for the clarity you left behind and the people you brought back into my life. I love you dad and I will miss you dearly catch you on the flip side.

family
Like

About the Creator

aysha valenzuela

Hello I live in the desert hiding in the shade from the beautiful powerful sun in az. I’ve lived all over southwest I dig experiences meeting new peeps and music is life. I am a nomad,I go where the wind takes me I’mhoping it blows me east.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.