Humans logo

F*ck your past

We all have one

By Amanda NicolePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
F*ck your past
Photo by Juan I. Riera on Unsplash

Listen we all have a past. We've all done things We aren't proud of. We all have regrets. We've all had highs and lows throughout our existence. And thats part of the human experience.We all need to acknowledge this and understand that without our pasts we wouldn't be were we are today. That could be a beautiful story to share with millons of people in a book perhaps. Or it could be a tragic story with a tragic ending. But either way it's our past. Our past taught us lessons and we need to be thankful for those lessons because we needed to learn them however big or small.

What we shouldn't do is judge others based off their pasts. We all have them as I've said. People change and grow daily. We're constantly evolving and learning. We're constantly becoming better versions of ourselves. And we're constantly adapting to the ever changing world we live in today. So why are we judging people based on thing they've done in the past? How would you feel if someone judged you for your past? Especially after you put so much work into bettering yourself.

I'm going to do a little story telling okay? I have a checkered past (as we all do I'm sure) I've been sexually assaulted twice and I had a drinking problem and I was in an abusive relationship for 6 years. All of that has led me to become who I am today. Not saying I'm proud of the decisions I made but I was in pain back then. I was depressed and I didn't trust people enough. If you'll read my book: My story 12 years of going to hell and back. I talk about the shit I've been through. I tell my story to help others. I don't have any shame in telling my story. But it would be awfully hurtful if someone came up to me and started judging me for my past. Why? Because what happened wasn't my fault and it's just not nice to judge regardless of whose fault it is. So many people ask me "Why didn't you leave your ex sooner? Or why didn't you tell people about your assault sooner?

I'd like to answer both of those questions by saying unless you're in those situations you have no idea how hard it is to leave. So unless you've walked in someones shoes you have no right to judge them. We live in such a harsh world and let's take judgement out of the equation. We're recovering from a pandemic, so many things are going on and we're being judgemental. I'm sure that's one reason the stigma surrounding mental health exists and why so many humans don't report assaults and rapes because they're afraid of being judged. So maybe we need to be less judgemental and more loving towards one another. Maybe we need to be more empathetic. And try to understand where someone might be coming from. Nobodies expecting you to understand 100% but at least trying would help.

This world is full of hate and toxicity already let's take some of that away by being less judgemental. We all have pasts, we all have issues. We've all done things we thought were good choices at the time but turned out they weren't. We've all made mistakes. I'm sure we could all write novels on our mistakes or make Netflix shows. So with that being said, let's not judge each other and start loving each other for who we are and honoring our pasts instead of shaming people for them.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.