Humans logo

F%ck Therapy

Everyone should go.

By Amanda NicolePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
F%ck Therapy
Photo by Daniel Eliashevskyi on Unsplash

Therapy sounds like it would be terrifying huh? Telling a stranger your deepest darkest secrets and letting them see a side of you that is usually well hidden from others. While it can be terrifying to let someone in like that, it can also be freeing. It can be freeing because you finally let go of demons that you've been holding on to for years. You can change your thinking patterns and heal in a safe space. You can explore many things about your thoughts and learn why it is you might be thinking things. You can cry, and whatever it is you need to do in a judgement confidential zone. I'd be lying to you if I told you Therapy didn't save my life. Therapy has helped me heal from some dark sh*t. It's helped me heal from an abusive realtionship, alcohol addiction, and so much more. It's helped me see things in a different light and understand that maybe there was a purpose for everything. Maybe I had to go through everything I did so that I could come out the other side stronger then ever. I'm learning to love myself and understand that I am worth it. I do deserve love and happiness. Sometimes we need an outside prespective to realize these things. We can't always do these things alone. We need people sometimes. It's never a one person job living.

Therapy has helped me realize that my trauma was not my fault and that I didn't deserve to be abused or assaulted. It's helped me realize that nothing my abusive ex told me was correct. It's helped me through so many things and continues to do so. I don't know that I would be alive without it today. Im not sure of a lot of things. But I'm sure of one thing in particular, I'm sure that things will get better for me as I continue my healing journey. I'm sure that no matter what I will in fact be okay. I will in fact come out the other side stronger then ever. While this may in fact be hard to realize right now, I'm certain I'll realize it later on in life. I hope. I know that I have a support system around me in some capacity, though somedays I still feel as if I have nobody. I still struggle with being lonely sometimes. But I'm learning to cope with that in Therapy. I'm learning to accept my past, be present and be hopeful for my future. I'm learning to understand that things aren't going to be this way forever. I'm learning to understand that the universe has a plan for me and will reveal itself over time. Despite how much I'd like to see the whole thing now. I would have never learned these things on my own. I give myself credit for being strong enough to realize I need therapy. So many people don't go and get help and have fatal consequences. It's a harsh reality that we need to change. We need to reduce the stigma surrounding mental health and make going to therapy normal. I cannot speak for everyone when I say therapy is a lifesaver. But for me it certainly is. Therapy is something that I will never take for granted and appreciate forever. I will forever thank all of my therpists for helping me through each specific stage of life. Thank you for never giving up on me and helping me understand the meaning of life and helping me find my way in this semi toxic, insane world today.

advice
1

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.