Humans logo

Entangled

First, confusion. Figuring it out is the fun part.

By Taleya T.Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Entangled
Photo by Alireza Parpaei on Unsplash

Could this be love? I just met him ... but, I feel so ... like, I'll do anything for him, she thinks as she types away on her laptop.

"Yes, that will be a good ending." And, she finishes the paragraph, and clicks on the submit button. "I hope they like this story." She says with a slight smile on her face, knowing it's a good one. Chella pauses, and takes a breath after writing for so long. She looks around, and notices the cafe has gotten a little bit busier. Wow, the people are really jammin' this place today, she says to herself. "It's good for business," she says as she feels glad to be part of this establishment. And then, she turns her head, and sees him in the line.

"Oh, hell no!" She says to herself, and packs up her things to leave in a hurry. Chella runs to the front doors, feeling relief that he didn't see her. "Damn ... trouble that I do not need right now!" She says as she flies out the door, and down the sidewalk. She pulls out her phone to text, Syllfie, her best friend. A minute goes by, and she gets a response. "Can we meet for lunch?" Chella asks. And, another minute later confirms her lunch plans for today.

Chella runs home to change and freshen herself up. Still feeling flustered, and a little on-edge, she's trying to ignore it. But, she can't help the thoughts that keep popping up in her head. What in the hell? She asks herself. I can't still have feelings for him ... he ... he broke my heart once. I can't give that guy anything more, she thinks. Then, his face comes into view, and she quickly shuts her eyes, and shakes her head.

"This is impossible ...," she tells herself. She then hurries to get ready faster She texts Syllfie and asks if they can meet earlier than planned. After that, she heads out the door, and off to the restaurant.

The girls meet in front of the little restaurant, then head in.

"I saw him today. Again. Why does life hate me?" Chella says as she and Syllfie are sitting down to lunch.

"Girl, I have no idea. And, life doesn't hate you. It's just ... telling you something. Maybe ..."

"Like what? The fact that he and I live in the same town! It's bad enough that I have to run-in to him all the time. Maybe I should move ...," Chella says, as she stares out the window.

"What? That's not the Chella I know. What's it been? Six months? Tell me you're over him by now, hon. It's not like you to dwell on something like this." Syllfie says, looking a little apathetic.

"I know. I'm over him. I think ...," she says, apprehensively.

"Chella, focus. And, not on him! Nate is crap, we both know it. Hot crap, but CRAP, nonetheless!" Syllfie says, and they both burst out laughing.

"You're right. I'll train my brain as many times as it takes to forget him!"

"You do that, girl. You do that!"

A minute goes by as the two look over the menu, and decide on their dishes. Chella puts her menu down, and starts the conversation once more.

"In other news, Julian wants to make me a shift manager. I can't believe this ..." Chella says as she picks up and glances over the menu one more time.

"No kidding! That's great, Chells!"

"Are you out of your mind? I don't want to be promoted. I just want to be, and stay a lowly barista. I don't need that kind of stress. I watch Tad, and all my other supers, and their job is not an easy one." She says, and Syllfie nods all the while.

"But, there's a pay raise ..."

"That's true, but that's what my writing is for. One day, I'll make it big! You know I will, Sylls!" Chella says staring straight at her best friend.

"Oh, my lovely writer! I know that will happen one day. But, this is now. Maybe you should take the promotion." Syllfie says, and Chella sighs.

"No. I won't take it ... because, I don't want it. Plus, you know how Julian is. He's impossible to work for. His standards are impeccably high! There's no way he would like how I work at a supervisory level." Chella says. "But, turning him down ... that won't be easy either." She sighs. Then, Syllfie reaches over, and puts a hand on Chella's.

"You know what's best for you, Chells. Just tell him that you don't want it, and that will be that!" Syllfie says, and she makes it sound so simple. Chella wishes that it would be so easy, but she knows that it won't be.

After their lunch, the two girls part ways, and Chella decides to go back to the cafe. She gets a warm coffee beverage since it's a little chilly out. After she orders, she looks around and notices that she doesn't really know any of the barista's since they don't usually work the early mornings with her. Sad, how there are groups of people who work here with me, but don't, she thinks.

Walking a few blocks home, she's thinking of the conversation she's just had with Syllfie. What should I do? How do I turn down the position? And, what about Nate? In my heart ... I still ..., she thinks and continues on her walk. She takes a deep breath in, and holds it for a few seconds before breathing again. Clear head, clear mind. I know what to do ... concentrate. On the writing. I need to make it with my talent. I have to ... there's no other choice.

...to be continued.

love
Like

About the Creator

Taleya T.

I am an aspiring fantasy fiction writer. Looking to infuse creation, and add to my new series, Love, and the Realm. I am hoping to dabble a little in this thing called Vocal, and expand my audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.