Humans logo

Ended Another Friendship Part 2

It Was The Final Straw

By Michelle HillPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Here is part two of how I ended another friendship because of his wife.

So I damaged Hollie's car, which I already said I would pay for. Well, since it was taking me a long time to get a quote for the damages she didn't like that. On my day off she sends me a long text message saying that I have changed since I've been back, and that I lacked on the house chores. I'm sorry what?! Apparently me working sixty hours was an inconvenience to her. The house had to be clean at all times no matter what. But yet, me and her husband were working a lot and she was on the couch all day.

How does that work?! Anyway, she and Andy wanted me to come talk to them. Oh, and the kicker was they had another person move in without telling me. So there's that too. They also were treating this person the way they treated me when I first came. Cooked for me, told me they would help me get my feet back on the ground. Help me out.

That lasted two months. I wanted to tell this person that this is what they did. They would butter you up and give you all these promises, but never do them. That's how they got you. But since this new roommate worked with Andy, she didn't see it. She didn't want to see it. She was blinded by the dogs.

I called my friend Katie while she was away and asked if I could stay with her until I left for Virginia. She didn't hesitate and said that I could move in with her until I left. The sooner the better. So I put a plan in motion. I went over to talk to Andy and Hollie. Hollie went off and said I was disrespectful, I was selfish, and I took advantage of them. I'm trying to think of where did I go wrong.

I worked, that's all I did was work. Found out they wanted me to pay three hundred dollars worth of utilities every month. Now, I was under the impression my rent was going to utilities. It was going towards Hollie's car note. We never signed an agreement, we never shook on anything. I changed my address while I was staying with Katie. After the talk with Andy and Hollie I broke down.

What Hollie said to me stung really bad. I called all my friends and told them what happened. All of them disagreed with Hollie. I'm the type of person that would give my last dollar to you if you needed it. I've done time plenty of times. But Hollie didn't like how I was working so much and not cleaning the house. I'm a line cook for crying out loud!

I'm tired all the time making food for other people for damn near twelve hours, then I have to clean for another four. So, I'm sorry if I'm exhausted from work and all I want to do is relax. But she didn't see that way. Told Katie what happened and she told me to get my stuff and move in that day. I had to put up a pretense until November. Andy and Hollie were going on vacation. That's when I would get my stuff and never turn back.

I kept up this pretense that I was staying with them still. I would ask my coworker that was taking me to and from work to just hang out for about five minutes and I would be back. I pretended to get ready for bed and I would just back up my back pack and leave. I did this until they left for their vacation. Katie let me use a tote and three days before they came back I asked my co worker to help me with my stuff. I packed up everything. I left the money for the car and a the note Hollie wrote me when I first arrived.

The next day my phone blew up. With calls between Hollie and Andy. I didn't answer. I sent them both a text saying I was at work. That was a lie. It was my day off. I just didn't want to talk to them. I told them that Katie was going to hold my stuff, because it was just easier. Again, a lie. But it got them off my back. I didn't trust them with my stuff.

The day before they came back from vacation, I got a new phone and a new number. I blocked them both on ALL social media. That night a different coworker was taking me home. I asked if we could stop by the place. He had no problem. I returned the phone, and gave them last rent. That was that.

The day Hollie told me I wasn't capable of living on my own was the day I needed to get out. I could't live with her. Andy is always going to take his wife's side. I know that for a fact. I never thought I would see the day one of my best friends would side with someone else. It was heartbreaking. It really was. But I had to do what was best for me.

I had the day off the next day. My dad, my sister, and Katie all got phone calls from Andy. All said they wouldn't call him back. They had my back. I went back to work and my kitchen manager said that Andy called. All my managers knew my situation and they were protecting me. Apparently Andy and Hollie were my 'landlords.'

My kitchen manager just laughed and she told me that legally she wasn't supposed to say if I was there or not. I showed her what they looked like. She said if they came looking for me, she would say she hasn't seen me. I love my managers for that day. They were protecting me to make sure I was okay. Everyone at that restaurant had my back. They weren't scared to throw down.

Living with Katie for the remainder of my time in California was amazing. I mean, best friends of ten years. Of course it was amazing. I had someone from home until I left, and she had someone from home until her girlfriend joined her. We kept each other company and she saved my life those last few months. She was truly my life saver. We spent Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years Eve together like we did for the last ten years.

Should I have ended my friendship with Andy better? Sure, but I can't be friends with him while he's married to Hollie. I know he loves her, but he's not in love with her. I can tell. He's with her to just be with her at this point. I know that sounds harsh, but it's just something that I've seen. I do wish we can reconnect one day.

But right now, I can't be his friend anymore. Not until Hollie is out of the picture. Things would have been different if Hollie wasn't part of his life. She depends on him way too much and it's not healthy. I don't know if they're going to last or not. Only time will tell. I wish them best, but that's all I can do.

I know this was long, and I am sorry. But I wanted to get this story out. The way I ended it was wrong, yes it was. I just couldn't face them anymore. I just couldn't. If Katie didn't show up, I would have had my other friend hold my stuff. I'm glad I did what I did.

It was hard ending it. It really was, but I knew I made a mistake as soon as I stepped foot in California. It just took me a long time to see it. I am better now. I'm back home and I can breathe again. I can do what I want to do without someone breathing down my neck. It's been easier.

Thank you for reading my story.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.