Humans logo

Don't Wake Me! I'm Dreaming!

How the Act of Sleep Brings Us Closer to Our Ancestors

By Digital_FootPrintPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like
Don't Wake Me! I'm Dreaming!
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

It’s been awhile since I’ve last posted anything. I have been on a little bit of a sabbatical as of late because to be honest with you, I really havent felt like writing anything.

Don’t get me wrong! There have been times that I wanted to write but as soon as I would begin to plan it out in my mind, something would always happen which would cause me to put writing on the backburner.

It wasn’t until very recently that I would get the bug to write again after being visited in my dreams by one of my ancestors, my grandmother.

My grandmother was still here with me in her house. When I saw her, she began to extend her arms out to me as I fell inside her arms with a warm embrace.

It felt so real and I could see everything so clear. She was still wearing one of tbose flowery house gowns that she always wore. I couldn’t believe it.

She was sitting on her bed out in the garage that we turned into a makeshift den and right across from her was my “great aunt” who was perched in her chair on their premises.

I even still had my fish aquarium that one of my cousins brought back and set it up for me.

It turns out that my uncle still had it in the back to his truck and hadn’t unloaded it yet. Everything was put back in its place like it always was. Everything was normal once again.

I was even joking to everybody about how old one of the water pumps was. That thing has to be at least 40–45 years old and still pumping pretty well.

In fact, I had mentioned about how I was going rebuild it and have it working better then ever.

After joking around with my folks, I went outside for a walk. As I was walking around outside, I overheard my mother and grandmother talking in the garage.

I could hear my mother telling my grandmother about ssome bills that needed to be paid that totalled around 140 dollars.

Man! Now y’all know that was a dream especially in these expensive times. I even heard them mention something about an issue with our land.

She was discussing something involving a land plat. I had no idea that was even an actual real term until I searched it up online just recently.

It made me think about how our neighbor asked to buy some of our land to park one of his 150 automobiles and I wondered did we actually take him up on his offer.

I went back into the house and seen my grandmother sitting in a chair in front of her desk that she sat in for almost 32 years.

I looked into her eyes which reminding me of one of our last conversations together in which she told me that,

“I was going to live a long time.”

As I looked at her, I noticed that she still was still trembling slightly like she did when she was in hospice care. She told me that she needed some oatmeal and to go upstairs and get the Second Nature.

*Sidenote: Second Nature is cholesterol-free eggs or basically egg whites in a carton for all those interested in wbat I was referring to.

That’s when I knew that this was just a dream because who keeps Second Nature upstairs. That stuff has to be refrigerated but as I thought about it a little more, I realized that was a reference to my aunt who passed away some time ago.

About 30 years ago, the doctor informed her that she had high cholesterol and that she had to cut out certain foods from her diet.

My aunt was a staunch of proponent of her eggs so instead of her giving up eggs for good, my grandmother switched over to egg whites and the brand was called Second Nature.

The upstairs reference was where her room was all those years. I guess that was my grandmother’s way of letting me know that she was okay as well.

I miss her so much. I can’t believe it’s been well over a decade since she passed on.

When I finally opened my eyes, I thanked her for coming to visit me especially after the hectic day I had that Saturday.

*Sidenote: I had to take a quick pause for a few seconds because the tears were starting to fall as I type this. I had to wipe away all of these teardrops from this new laptop I recently purchased. I really hope that this thing is waterproof.

As a little kid growing up, a lot of us were taught that one day you’re going to leave this world and if you’re good you go up to Heaven and if you’re bad well, you go the opposite direction.

As an adult, I’ve come to find out over the years that there’s a little more to it then that. It’s true that our elders will eventually “leave this world” and become ancestors.

Now just because they might “leave this world” doesn’t mean they leave you. Truth is that they’re always with you and they’ll pop on you when you really need them. Believe me I know because it’s happen to me a few times this year alone.

Knowing all that I know, the little kid in me still wishes that I could’ve spent a little more time with her and ask her about so many things just to get her take on them.

Well, there’s always the next dream. Until then, I love you and I miss you dearly.

humanityfamilyadvice
Like

About the Creator

Digital_FootPrint

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.