Humans logo

Covid Cancelled My Book Launch!

My next book is an anthology of creative writing responses to Covid-19. The name of the book is Plague Invasion, and it was going to be launched in late July. Then Covid hit, and the launch had to be postponed ... A book all about the Covid virus, cancelled by the Covid virus - Talk about irony!

By Carolyn CordonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
This was the invitation to the book launch, lovely isn't it? But postponed ...

So yes, Covid struck, and the South Australian government had to lock down our state, so we'd stay home, stay safe, and not spread 'the plague' to others.

But vaccinations are happening, people are being careful, and while things may be looking dangerous in various places around the world, with this Covid virus, my state is keeping our affected numbers low, compared to some other states, and certainly some other countries.

This virus is not something we can ignore, and carry on as usual. We need to be aware of the possible chance of infection, wherever we are, and whoever we meet up with, I feel.

It worries me that so many people seem to think this isn't anything real, that we can somehow just carry on however we want to, and things will be fine. Because if we all do that, they won't be ...

But even having written that, I'm glad to say this book is in fact going to get launched, on 29 August, at the same place, but half an hour earlier than the 2.30 start that was going to be the time for the original time of that postponed event.

The hotel where this book launch is going to happen abides by the rules given by the state government, and at the moment, that means people present must wear a mask if they are moving around the hotel, but can take off their mask when they are sitting down to eat or drink.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Onto the problem

I am looking at the awful numbers of people affected though, particularly in New South Wales, where the number of cases has leapt up to over 800, with, I think it was 3 people, losing their lives to this virus yesterday ...

Sobering numbers for sure, but when I look at international numbers, it is far worse than what is happening in Australia. I am glad we have a reasonable health care system, with people being able to be vaccinated, with the details of who and where such vaccinations can happen being available online ...

There is the governmental call in all states in Australian for all who can be vaccinated, to definitely go ahead and get vaccinated, for your own better health and for the health of those you love. And the better health of those you work with too, or basically everyone else.

There are lockdowns in various states, but unfortunately there are numbers of people who are refusing to stay home, and are even attending parties of large numbers of attendees, where just one affected person could infect all of those present.

Then those affected people would go home, infect their family, then all go to work and infect work mates, who infect their own families, and so on. It is an ongoing issue, where ignorance and privilege combine, and people ignore what the govenment are telling them to do, because they simply ignore everyone else, and do what they personally want to do, not caring about anyone else.

I know a few people who seem to not believe the truth of what the Covid virus is, and what it can do. I certainly believe the truth of it, and I am glad to have been vaccinated against Covid.

I have a chronic illness, Multiple Sclerosis, and I certainly don't want to acquire any new problems that seemingly can occur, in people who have caught Covid, and with the 'delta' strain of the virus, which is particularly easy to catch ...

So I will hold my book launch, and I will wear a mask whenever I am there inside the hotel, and not seated with my food and drink ... And if the rules tell me I should wear a mask outside (which they don't specify at the moment, but that may change), well if that's what the rules say, that is what I'll do. I am always happy enough to comply with such sensible rules.

And of course, if something happens between now and my proposed book launch, and I have to postpone the event again, well, I will comply with that ruling. There are always online ways, as an option ...

This Covid world is a whole new thing for most people, and we must find the best and safest ways to manage our lives, with care for ourselves and for others, particularly the most vulnerable ones amongst us.

Care for all, so all may make it through!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.