Humans logo

Change

By : Rebeka

By Beka WinklerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Throughout existence change has been all around us, not only around us but in us. We’ve changed and continue to change. It may be in personality, opinion, looks, and even feelings. Change can be anything and caused by anything. Change can be caused by your roles, what you are ready to accept, how people treat you, or even your responsibilities. I know that over the past couple of years my roles, what I have accepted, how people treated me, and my responsibilities have changed me and possibly for the greater good.

In the last couple of years my role went from being an older sibling and looking out for/ taking care of my younger siblings, to being the youngest and taking care of myself. When i was watching out for my younger siblings, i felt like i knew what i was supposed to do, like i had a purpose for a little while. Then one day that all changed. Suddenly we were separated, I was with my older sister who was about to graduate, and with whom I didn't get along very well with, and everyone else went to Texas. So it was me, my older sister, dad, and stepmom. My dad was a truck driver, and my stepmom was a pilot car driver. Some days I was home alone and some everyone was too tired to do anything. I didn't and still don't really know what my role is anymore. That's changed me, now I feel like I don't know what to do anymore. I feel like i should be doing more but i just don't know what more i can do.

There are many things we come to face during our time, many things we can accept or we can ignore. I have accepted many things throughout my life but I have accepted more in the past couple of years than throughout my entire life. I have accepted that my sister didn't care anymore and just used me. That changed me because I realized that I can't always count on everyone to suddenly be my closest friend, or to keep my secrets, not even someone i grew up with. I have accepted that nothing will be the same as it was a long time ago because we are not the same people anymore. We have all changed and we will continue to change. Accepting this and many more things like this made me a more independent person. I learned to rely on myself and only myself.

While growing up I was treated differently by so many people I didn't know what to think. I didn't know how to act. When I was little before my mom married, me and my sister and two brothers got along great, it was like an actual family, then when my mom married it was as if I didn't exist or I was a nuisance. As I slowly grew up it got worse and I didn't know what to do. My escape was going to visit my dad it felt like an actual family. Being treated so differently by many different people was also another reason I had changed. I learned how to be independent, and to deal with my feelings or problems on my own.

Finally one of the major things that can change people is our responsibilities and I know that along with my responsibilities I have changed. My responsibilities include myself, my dog, chores, and making sure that I can get through whatever is thrown at me . Those responsibilities have changed me because they have taught me how to be independent and how to do things on my own. Because I can't always rely on people.

Life can bring many changes, some can be terrifying, some you don't want to accept, or maybe even some that you wanted or needed. Change is usually for the greater good so you can become a better person or start living a better life than you have. The change that was brought to me these past couple of years was good for me. It taught me not to wear my heart on my sleeve, to only rely on myself and to live life because no matter what happens either something bad or good will come out. Change has taught me that you only get to do this once so learn, live, and love. Everything changes and no one can stop it so just live it out and have fun.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.