Humans logo

BOOM!

Life is just one big BOOM!

By Bre Hardin Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

BOOM!

Or maybe it was more like BANG!

Either way, I hurried towards the sound. I opened the front door but to my surprise, no one was there. There was only a little black book, with a stone tied around it lying on my new "Wait, I’m Probably Naked" doormat.

Cautiously, I picked up the small black notebook. I inspected it just before taking another look around. It was a hot summer Georgia day, and I could only assume that everyone was inside attempting to stay cool.

What is this?

Once inside, I took a seat on the sofa and fondles the rope that attached the stone to the book. The letters TCD were carved inside the stone.

TCD?

Doesn't ring a bell.

Full of curousity, I removed the rope and stone from the book. I took a deep breath before opening the small black notebook and then...

Nothing.

The entire notebook was blank except for the last page which said:

"TCD. Remember me?"

What does that mean?

BOOM!

I rushed towards the front door. This time when I opened it, it was another stone only this time, it was attaced to a folded up piece of paper.

No one was there.

Full of anxiety, I rushed inside and locked the door.

Once I was finally able to free the paper from the rope and stone it read:

"TCD. Avenue 3. At 3:00 p.m."

Avenue 3 is the new park that replaced the old elementary school that I attended over 20 years ago.

I was partly afraid and partly intrigued.

It's only noon.

"Hello?"

I called my best friend, Elise, to get her opinion.

"Something weird is going on!"

I explained the little black notebook, the stones, and the piece of paper to her.

"What do you think it means?"

"I have no idea!"

BOOM!

"There it goes again!"

"Maybe you should call the police," Elise warned.

Maybe.

Still, I opened the door to see what I would find.

This time, it was only a stone with the letters "PMJ" carved on it.

"PMJ?"

"Prue! Those are your initials!" Elise pointed out.

She's right.

Pruedance Marie James.

"Why are you intials on the stone?"

"I don't know, okay! I don't know!"

"You should call the police. Or at least call Paul."

Right. I should probably call my husband.

I filled him in and he ordered me not to go to Avenue 3.

Still, I was curious.

Obviously, whoever is leaving the stones already knows where I live.

What harm would showing up at a public park do?

I watched the clock endlessly.

2:45 p.m.

That’s it. I’ve made up my mind.

I’m going to the park.

Ten minutes later, I arrived at Avenue 3.

The park was crowded as usual.

Good.

A crowded park means I’ll be safe…

Right?

I studied as many people as I could. No one looked strange or out of place. No one looked suspicious.

At 3:00 p.m. sharp I got out of my car and walked towards an empty park bench.

I was terrified. Confused, yet still curious.

I checked the time on my cell phone.

3:02 p.m.

What am I doing here?

This is crazy…

“Prue? Pruedance James?”

He sat down beside me.

My heart was racing and I noticed that I was panting.

“Who are you?” I muttered.

I stared at his face.

He didn’t strike me a killer or anything of the sorts.

Actually, he looked very wealthy. Clean and quite handsome if I might add.

“Terrance Davis. We were in 5th grade together.”

I looked at him confused.

“You stood up for me. I was being bullied by Rude Richie and you always stood up for me. And then one day, you socked him right in the nose because he wouldn’t stop teasing me.”

I grinned. “Ahhh…I remember that.”

“Pruedance,” he smiled. “We moved that same weekend, but I never forgot about what you did for me.”

For the first time I noticed his briefcase. As he picked it up, my heart skipped a beat, unsure of what was about to happen next.

“I’m dying, Prue.” He reached me an envelope. “And as well as I’ve done for myself, I can’t take any of my money with me.”

I opened the envelope.

It was a $20,000 check.

“I want to give to everyone who has ever made an impact on my life. I feel like that was a $20,000 punch, at the very least. Wouldn’t you agree?”

He stood up.

“I don’t need this. Thank you, but…”

“I read a post on your social media that you wanted to start a coffee shop… Look at it as an investment. Goodbye Prue. You have one hell of a right hook.”

And with that, he walked away.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Bre Hardin

Write to love. Love to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.