Humans logo

Being Capable of Waiting Can Be a Superpower

Which is your superpower?

By Ameer VincentPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Being Capable of Waiting Can Be a Superpower
Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

For most of my life, I have been impatient. I wanted something to happen all the time! When I turned 20, I knew exactly what I should do in this life.

I had a clear plan: to get a degree, to start building a career, to get married, and start a family. After college graduation, I immediately started to achieve all the other goals on my list… In particular, without thinking too much, I married a guy I thought I liked.

At the time, I knew too little about waiting. I thought that waiting is what a person does when he lacks courage or is insecure. I thought waiting was just an excuse not to do anything. Today I think differently.

Waiting - is one of the most powerful tools you have. It will allow you to create the life you dream of.

Your self, or rather your mind, feels uncomfortable in a waiting state. Your ego screams deep in your lungs, "Do something already. Well, at least something! It's better than sitting and waiting! ". You are controlled by your ego.

Your mind hates a state of uncertainty. She prefers to act and make mistakes, rather than just be in a state of uncertainty to see how everything works out on its own.

I want you to stretch the whole path in bright lights towards your bright future. It's impossible. Your journey in real life is more like a complicated maze, and to continue, you need certain skills.

Everything in life happens on time. More often than not, this very right moment does not come when you want to.

You want it to be everything today or maybe even yesterday. But before something happens, certain changes take place in your subconscious. Those changes prepare you for the next leap. Strange, but when what you wanted happens, it seems like it was so destined.

To gain that inner confidence in what needs to be done, you need to be able to wait.

This does not mean that this intuition will give you confidence that everything will work out according to your plan. That doesn't mean you won't be scared. You will simply understand clearly that "now is the time to act."

You are constantly talking to others about what you need to do. You hope they have answers to your questions, but in fact, you do your best to make sure they agree with you.

The conclusions about how you should draw them are based on certain standards: common sense, moral principles, religion, family values, finances, and more. Usually, you're looking for something that matches them. And then you mix it all and give it the "best shot."

It would be much better to gather everything you know (to study what you don't know yet) and… to wait.

If something pushes you to do certain things, do them! (Do it, even if it seems to you that these actions will not lead to anything). After that, dive in again. Wait for the next impulse. It should be an active expectation, not a passive one.

Now I'm not talking about indecision or the desire to postpone something for later. The moment your intuition asks you to go in a certain direction, and your mind screams, "Stop," you must ignore the voice of reason. Please do it!

Fear (which does not allow you to do what you want) and a premonition of something bad (which simply warns you that the right decision may not be at all) are two different things.

Trust your instincts. My friend shared with me her father's advice: "The decision to get married should be the easiest decision you make in your life." I wish someone told me before I started a family. By the way, my decision was extremely wrong.

Now I know the following: if you have to persuade yourself to do something, it is better to wait.

Don't listen to the voice of reason, which tells you that you have to make a decision right now.

Learn to trust your instincts more than you trust your mind. He thinks the time will be right. Everything will be as it should be.

And when that time comes, act. Do the right thing. Make it simple and easy. Imagine you are a flying bird.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.