Humans logo

Be Kind With Your Words

Think, Before You Speak.

By Carol TownendPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
3
Be Kind With Your Words
Photo by Adam Nemeroff on Unsplash

There are a lot of people who talk about others.

Some talk with kindness, others are just spiteful.

Spiteful talkers don't just talk when they don't like somebody. They ruminate over things they don't know about, or simply because they can't get their own way.

Spiteful people:

  • Like to think they know everything about everyone
  • Judge what they don't know.
  • Spread lies and rumors about a person, simply because they don't like them.
  • Never think before running their mouths
  • Perpetrate abuse, often against people with vulnerable histories or people who live different lives to them.

You don't know what is going on in other people's lives.

  • The person who is behaving in a way that you consider abnormal might be experiencing mental health problems or other disabilities
  • The person who appears to look 'grumpy' may be feeling down.
  • The person who appears 'soft' may have been a victim of crime either past or present.
  • The person whose house or garden isn't as tidy as yours might be struggling with some chores.
  • The person who doesn't talk much might be feeling lonely.

In my world today, too many people seem to find fun in talking in spiteful ways about others, even if they don't know who they are.

The worst, they seem to get some fun out of it, because they know that their chosen victim can't do anything to stop it without evidence.

And the evidence is hard to find because spiteful people never come clean when they are bullying someone, or know that their behavior is wrong.

I have lived in several housing estates where people were spiteful and plain abusive to me.

This abuse often occurred where nobody could witness it; often when I was alone in the house with my children, or just walking down a street. I put up with being touched, hit, insulted, and ruminated about, all because I was a vulnerable young parent. It wasn't long before the violence and spitefulness became so terrifying that I had to flee for my own safety.

This is not how a person should have to live. The worst,

When I reported it, nobody believed me.

As a result; I speak out today, and I encourage you to too.

Why should we suffer in silence while these cruel people get away with what they do?

I still find many people are spiteful of me today, and it is often because I have a history of mental illness and a very vulnerable past.

I don't respond because I haven't got a kind word to say to those people. I talk about it with those I can trust, or I try to seek help.

One thing, I won't do, is sit and suffer.

I spend a lot of time alone because:

1) My family lives away from me.

2) I prefer it

3) I'm a writer and a carer, so I socialize less nowadays.

And, here is another thing:

Spiteful people tend to target people who either have disabilities or look after others with disabilities because they see them as easy targets.

I can ignore pettiness.

After all, being petty is not exactly being an adult.

Spiteful people are everywhere. Sometimes it is best and wise to just ignore them, but remember if you feel that you are in danger, then you have every right in the world to call the police.

Mostly: Don't let spiteful people drag you down. It's not worth the hassle or the stress.

Everybody has the right to live their lives in peace. We are all different, but it doesn't give anyone the right to be spiteful.

Remember: Kindness pays well.

humanityfeatureadvice
3

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Colton Mckay12 months ago

    That's some truth right there, thank you for sharing!

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    Wow, pure words of wisdom And it is true when they don't know much about you, they start creating it and recruit others in their loathing of you. Most of the time they are just jealous anyway And as you said, it is best to just ignore them and keep doing you. This is a top story! I hope it receives the recognition it deserves.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.