Humans logo

Awkward Love

From an Awkward Teenager That Goes By The Name Emma

By NimbusPublished 4 months ago 5 min read
1
Image generated by Midjourney

Once upon a not-so-ordinary day, in the realm of awkwardness where I

Reign supreme, I had an epiphany. You see, I, Emma, am hopelessly in love

With Jake.

Jake, with his hair that defies gravity and a smile that could

Light-up a black hole, is my unattainable dream. But here's the twist:

I'm as Smooth as a hedgehog on a bad hair day.



It all started on a Tuesday, which, according to my horoscope, was

Supposed to be my lucky day (spoiler: it wasn't). I decided it was the day

I'd talk to Jake. Armed with a smile and the social grace of a confused

Penguin, I approached him.

"Hi, Jake! I'm Emma. I think you're really... really..." Words abandoned me

Faster than rats on a sinking ship, so I ended up saying,

"You're really... really... existent."

Yes, I told my crush he exists. Genius.



Jake, bless his heart, just chuckled and said,

"I do exist. Good observation, Emma."

I stood there, my brain doing somersaults. I think I managed a nod before

Scurrying away, leaving a confused but amused Jake behind.



The next great idea hit me during science class.

"Use science," my brain said. "It's foolproof," it said.

So, I wrote him a note:

Are you made of copper and tellurium? Because you're Cu-Te.

I slipped it into his locker with the stealth of a ninja. Later, I saw him read

The note and look around, puzzled. I hid behind a bookshelf, which

Promptly collapsed. Yes, I brought down a bookshelf in my quest for love.



Undeterred, I tried again at lunch. I sat next to him, armed with my best

Conversation-starters. But instead of words, a symphony of hiccups

Erupted from me. Each hiccup was like a cry for help from my love-struck,

Embarrassed soul. Jake handed me water, trying not to laugh. I drank it too

Fast and ended up coughing and spluttering like a malfunctioning

Fountain.

Fast forward to the school dance. I was determined to ask him to dance. I

Approached him, rehearsing my lines in my mind.

But as fate would have it,

I tripped on my own feet and launched myself towards him, hands flailing.

We both tumbled to the ground in what could only be described as an

Ungraceful heap of limbs.

Lying there, I expected him to be annoyed, but

Instead, he burst out laughing. And then, something incredible happened.

I started laughing too.



Through my laughter, I blurted out,

"Do you want to go out with me?"

It was less Cinderella and more, well, me. To my surprise, he said yes.

"I like you, Emma. You're different." He said, helping me up.

—----

Our first date was at a local carnival. I won a stuffed animal at a game stall,

Which I triumphantly handed to him, only to realize it was a giant squid

plushie.

"For all the times I've been awkwardly 'kraken' you up," I joked.

He laughed, and we spent the evening enjoying the carnival.



I realized something important. Love isn't about being perfect;

It's about finding someone who appreciates your unique brand of

Weirdness.

Jake didn't fall for me despite my awkwardness; he fell for me

Because of it.

And as for me? I learned to embrace my inner awkward

Penguin.

Because, in the grand scheme of things, we're all a bit awkward in

Love.

—----



So, there we were, Jake and I, the king and queen of the carnival, owning

Our quirkiness with every step. After the squid incident, I thought things

Couldn't get more bizarre. Oh, how wrong I was.

Our next date was at a fancy restaurant – you know, the kind with more

Forks than I have fingers and napkins folded like origami swans. I tried to

Be elegant, really, I did. But elegance and I are like oil and water – we don't

mix.

I accidentally launched a bread roll across the room trying to butter

It.

It landed in a waiter's pocket. Jake didn't just laugh; he howled with

laughter.

Then, as we were eating, I tried to impress him with my knowledge of wine,

only to mispronounce "Pinot Noir" so badly that it sounded like I was

Casting a spell in a fantasy novel.

The couple at the next table actually

Looked around for a wizard.

But wait, it gets better. After dinner, we decided to take a walk in the park.

It was a beautiful night, the stars winking at us like they were in on a

Cosmic joke. That's when I saw the swings.

"Let's be kids again!" I exclaimed, running towards them.

I swung so high I felt like I could touch the sky. And then, in my

Excitement, I tried to do a dramatic jump off the swing.

In a perfect world, I would've landed gracefully like a gymnast. But in

Emma's world? I landed face-first in a bush. Jake rushed over, half

Concerned, half trying not to burst into laughter.

"Are you okay?" he asked, helping me out of the bush.

I emerged, twigs in my hair and my dignity somewhere back on the swing,

And said,

"Never better!"

We laughed all the way home.

Each date was a new adventure, a new story to tell. I realized that being

With Jake wasn't just about the laughter and the silliness. It was about

being with someone who made me feel free to be myself, in all my clumsy,

Awkward glory.

So, what's the moral of the story? It's simple:

Love is strange,

Unpredictable, and sometimes, downright ridiculous.

But it's these moments, these quirky, imperfect moments,

that make the journey unforgettable.

And as for Jake and me?

We're still making our wonderfully awkward way through life, one hilarious

Misadventure at a time.

—----

Then I awoke on the ground with my family and friends all around me.

"Emma!" They screamed.

My body moaned in agony and my eyes fluttered half-open.

Turns out I got knocked tf out and dreamt the last three months of my life.

Jake ain’t even real.

satiresinglelovedating
1

About the Creator

Nimbus

I love showing my creative side through short stories, poetry, articles, blogs and more!

My love for reading, writing and personal growth is endless 📚✍️📈

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.