Humans logo

AMWF relationships

My experience with AMWF relationships and an observation of the dynamic in the states

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
3
Arguably the most popular AMWF relationship in Hollywood

With over 60K articles written in the humans community, I've seen a few articles discussing AAIP, Asian hate, and some articles discussing the fetishization of Asian women. All important topics to discuss, however. When I looked up the phrase AMWF here on vocal, there were no responses. Now let me explain what the phrase AMWF stands for/means. AMWF is an acronym for "Asian Male Western Female". It's as the name implies, an Asian man and a "Western" female relationship.

Background context:

For all of my new readers or simply those who don't know/remember. I am a Filipino-American. I was born and raised in the states, and unfortunately I've only had one opportunity so far to visit The Philippines. However I've always been proud of my culture. Thankfully I've never felt any different growing up, I was never bullied because of my race, the worst bullying I got for my race often came from my own friends which of course was always jokingly and out of love. But I know I have a unique background and dating in the states is most certainly different for me. Thankfully my family was always supportive of whomever I dated, all they cared about was the qualities of my potential future partner that aren't skin deep, it's always about culture and making sure the cultures mix in a healthy manner. They were/are always making sure the checklist is primarily comprised of qualities like; hard working, honest, honorable, intelligent, open-minded, etc. Which thankfully I have found in a good amount of my partners. However, it's just a common theme or whatever you want to call it that I happen to have dated predominantly Caucasian women throughout my life, so far. Honestly I'm not even sure why that's the case. The demographic of where I live, the subcultures I've been a fan of ever since I was a kid, the jobs I've had, I'm honestly not sure.

Granted again, MY EXPIERNCE I would imagine is vastly different from other AMWF relationships because I was born and raised here in the states. I never really faced much discrimination because of my relationships, I've always gotten along very well with the parents of my girlfriends, and my family was very supportive. I could imagine especially for Asian-American immigrants especially with heavy accents, it would be vastly different. Unfortunately I know within the community, it's still heavily frowned upon to date outside of your race. Shoot, for others it's even frowned upon to date other Asians. It's very sad to see. Once again thankfully my family instilled it in me to look for qualities that weren't skin deep. It just happened to be, a lot of the women I've been with were Caucasian.

So why did I feel like this was important to write? Everybody loved Glenn and Maggie in the walking dead, which was fantastic to see. And recently seeing Simu Liu as a Ken in Barbie, it got me thinking about how proud I am to see Hollywood doing us justice outside of the martial arts world. I know Last Christmas came out a few years ago, but sadly I haven't seen it yet. Anyways we've come a long way from the days of just Asian is good at martial arts or Asian is funny weirdo in film like Long Duk Dong. It makes me really proud and respected to see more and more AMWF relationships just being normal in Hollywood. There's another medium I could talk about, but everyone knows I like to keep it PG here. Sorry, just wanted a cheap laugh.

So why do I feel the importance to talk about it specifically? As mentioned above especially in Hollywood, it's great to see this culture change in Hollywood. I also just wanted to show my gratitude to my parents for the values they instilled in me. Now I still feel like we have a long way to go, and of course I'm doing my part to stop Asian hate. But I'm immensely proud of the progress we've made and the normalization of AMWF relationships.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

lovehumanityfamilydating
3

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Oh I didn't know you're a Filipino-American. Can you speak Tagalog? I know a few words, lol! Also, thank you so much for writing this! I'm so grateful for the way your parents brought you up!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.