Humans logo

Allergy Sufferers and the Global Pandemic

When a Sneeze is Just a Sneeze

By Bryan R..Published 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Allergy Sufferers and the Global Pandemic
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Allergy sufferers and pandemics don't go hand in hand. Every sneeze draws attention. Clearing the throat becomes a national emergency. Nose blowing draws scrutinizing eyes and death stares. The seasonal symptoms which trigger watery eyes and itchy throats now force people to stay home for fear of someone calling the Covid police.

Okay, so I am exaggerating a bit. But only a bit.

In no way am I minimizing the devastation Covid-19 has wreaked on the world. I lost a friend early on in the pandemic and personally know people who are battling post Covid side effects. Covid is nothing to joke about. However, the virus has changed the world, and not for the better. It's impossible to sneeze, cough, or dab at a runny nose without drawing attention. People fear to exhibit any of the typical hay fever symptoms, not wanting to be on the receiving end of a public scolding. That includes me. When the world shutdown, only a few places deemed essential kept their doors open. One of those places was the supermarket. I distinctly remember following the arrows on the grocery aisles last March. Shoppers quietly added items to their carts, none making eye contact. The fear of the virus gripped the heart of the world and people found it difficult to trust anyone. Questions like, Could that person be a carrier? or Is it worth dying over finding a package of two-ply toilet paper? crossed everyone's mind. On this particular Spring day, my throat started itching, and my eyes started watering. I cleared my throat, but dared not rub my eyes as that seemed to be one of the prime entry points for Covid germs. And then, the unthinkable happened. I stifled a sizable sneeze. In fact, it precipitated a full body spasm without the droplets exiting my mouth. This convulsion drew plenty of attention. I glanced around and felt shamed by other shoppers. The icy glares of those around me sent a shiver down my spine. I felt my face change multiple shades of red and hurried out of the store before someone called for me to be tarred and feathered. Here we are a year later, and not much has changed.

By a befendo on Unsplash

Case in point. I picked up my sons from class today, and they wanted Oreo McFlurries from McDonald's. We drove through and as we pulled up to the first window, the cashier sneezed into his mask. (That's gross, but not the point of this story.) Too cover this normal response to pollen in the air, he pretended he had just yawned. He made a point to say, "I sure am tired today," and then faked another yawn. I noted his red puffy eyes and recognized the telltale signs of an allergy sufferer. He did his best to cover his reaction to the blooming trees and flowers prevalent in our neck of the woods. He probably feared a tongue lashing from me, but instead I thanked him and drove on to the next window to pick up our food. One of my sons observed what happened and felt sympathy for the young man working the window. He commented, "Too bad we live in a world where we can't even sneeze without people freaking out."

By Brittany Colette on Unsplash

He's right, you know.

By Tai's Captures on Unsplash

Here's some important news. According to Emerson Hospital, rarely is sneezing a sign of Covid-19. In fact, neither is a stuffy nose or watery eyes. So, if someone sneezes within ear shot, there's no need of running for a vat of Purex or shouting out "the sky is falling." There's no need to ostracize or scream "Covid" when someone blows his or her nose. Keep in mind, those with allergies feel as if they are branded with a scarlet letter during this global pandemic. Show some grace and understanding.

Hand a sneezer a Kleenex, and instead of glaring eyes, offer them a simple "God bless you."

humanity
5

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.